Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 19, 2010, 05:46 AM
Top Prospect

Default When to use Trim?

I'm new to SSD and I read and know about Trim. However, when is it appropriate to use? Do I use it when I detect a performance decrease?
Old March 19, 2010, 05:56 AM
Hardware Canucks Reviewer

Trim is automatic. You need do nothing more than setup your system to USE it. This is a 3 part setup:
1) USE AHCI (and MS AHCI drivers)
2) USE a TRIM aware SSD (and firmware that enables it)
3) USE a TRIM capable OS (win 7 for example)

Do all that and you will never have an issue with your SSD going into a degraded state (as it is impossible) :)

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Old March 20, 2010, 11:54 PM
Top Prospect

Thx for the info. I finally bought the Intel 40GB SSD. I will install Windows 7 Professional on it tomorrow. Do I need to install the MS AHCI drivers or W7 automatically installs it? How do I enable AHCI in the BIOS? My motherboard is the Gigabyte P55A-UD3.

First thing tomorrow I'll install the SSD. Assuming I can turn on AHCI in the BIOS, is it as simple as plugging the SSD to a SATA port, turn on computer, boot from W7 disc and install the OS?
Old March 21, 2010, 04:38 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

yup just turn your sata controller to ahci and then do your install as per the norm. I personal still like doing tweaks that help make it faster but you don't have to do them it's just an option Windows 7 - Ultimate SSD Speed Tweaks
edit I am running intel drivers fro the storage manager right know because ia m in raid but ms/intel drivers from what i know all pass trim command on the sata controller just fine.

Last edited by gingerbee; March 21, 2010 at 04:44 AM.
Old March 21, 2010, 04:49 AM