Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 05:46 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 166
Default When to use Trim?

I'm new to SSD and I read and know about Trim. However, when is it appropriate to use? Do I use it when I detect a performance decrease?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 05:56 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

Trim is automatic. You need do nothing more than setup your system to USE it. This is a 3 part setup:
1) USE AHCI (and MS AHCI drivers)
2) USE a TRIM aware SSD (and firmware that enables it)
3) USE a TRIM capable OS (win 7 for example)

Do all that and you will never have an issue with your SSD going into a degraded state (as it is impossible) :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2010, 11:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 166
Default

Thx for the info. I finally bought the Intel 40GB SSD. I will install Windows 7 Professional on it tomorrow. Do I need to install the MS AHCI drivers or W7 automatically installs it? How do I enable AHCI in the BIOS? My motherboard is the Gigabyte P55A-UD3.

First thing tomorrow I'll install the SSD. Assuming I can turn on AHCI in the BIOS, is it as simple as plugging the SSD to a SATA port, turn on computer, boot from W7 disc and install the OS?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 04:38 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

yup just turn your sata controller to ahci and then do your install as per the norm. I personal still like doing tweaks that help make it faster but you don't have to do them it's just an option Windows 7 - Ultimate SSD Speed Tweaks
edit I am running intel drivers fro the storage manager right know because ia m in raid but ms/intel drivers from what i know all pass trim command on the sata controller just fine.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris

Last edited by gingerbee; March 21, 2010 at 04:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 04:49 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

yup, the new ones do indeed pass trim....but some peeps report a performance hit by using them. Out of curiosity how are your speed with the new drivers gingerbee?
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 05:34 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

they peak higher but it jumps more so far i just change over to my s592's which have FW 1848 on them which i think has ITGC not 100% on this but will be switching back to my falcon 1 today again which are still on the fast none stuttering 1571 and then i can do some bench's to see what do you think is the best all around benchmark these days AS SSD or just setup hdtune for 4kb with 100% accurate settings. will bench mark both set ups when i decide what is the best benchmark to use?

it's easy to confirm what driver just check in intel RTS is lists drivers for which drives under > help> system report tabs.
edit thinking about grabbing those 40gb v in raid had to get some last week for a client and these puppy's fly adn there 4k random write is just wicked which is what the os does most
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:29 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

IIIRC 1848 is TRIM only (as it is equal to OCZ's 1.4 firmware). 1916 (AKA 1.5) is the one that has both ITGC and TRIM....which I dont think adata has released yet.

CDM or AS SSD. Both are very good. HDTune when setup is also a decent choice. Another good one would be IOM, but for quick n dirty testing either CDM or AS or HDTune (personal pref for CDM) would be good enough. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:35 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

ya i think i will do a hdtune because then i don't have to write to it burning anything up. not that i worry i just figure that i do right test when i do fw upgrades only keeps the writes at a minimum
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 11:55 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 166
Default

Here's something that I don't understand. How come the defrag option is not greyed out even though I install W7P on an Intel 40GB SSD? I thought it's suppose to be greyed out to prevent people from defragging the SSD.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 04:52 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

no you have to turn it off your self. kinda dumb you also might want to turn off readyboot. not readyboost it is already gone from windows 7
to turn off readyboot right click my computer>manage>services>data collection sets>startup event trace sessions. then double click readyboot tab over to trace session and untick enable check mark box then restart. done.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raid and TRIM Smn123 Storage 1 February 28, 2010 07:36 AM
Why You Need TRIM for your SSD [bit-tech] FiXT Storage 11 February 5, 2010 12:31 PM
Kingston Launches 512GB SSDNow V+ and Adds TRIM Support FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 5 January 26, 2010 04:57 AM
Trim enabling and ssd toolbox issue BT! Storage 35 January 22, 2010 11:14 PM
Which SSDs have Auto-Trim function? AERo Storage 31 October 15, 2009 06:17 AM