Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 12:32 PM
Patramix's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: between Montreal and Sherbrooke
Posts: 209

My System Specs

Default

hello there, somewhat new around here(posting wise) but i do have ton's of experience with big drive and too much files to store

currently have 4TB worth of HDD's 2 1TB WD black and the rest are 500gig(wd or seagates)

i can seriously fell the genuine concern for massive data loss with 2TB drives without redundancy, 1 of my 1TB drives failed severely and i lost over 600gigs of files, the drive was full.

but i also see there usefulness of bigger drives, but personally i don't want to even touch anything bigger then 1TB until i can afford to rebuild my server or get a high capacity NAS with raid support for redundancy.

i assume most people use the bigger drives for back-up and/or data storage to start with so losing that data would realy blow. personaly am trying to save up the money so i can build me a new data storage farm(4TB minimum in raid to have a security blanket in-case 1 drive goes bad, i hate losing data)

just my 2ko worth of thoughts ;)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 01:16 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 736
Default

If data loss is a concern, you could always get two WD Green 1TB drives and run them in RAID. Should not be over $300 to make this happen. less than $100 per HDD, and a little over a hundred for a decent RAID card.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 02:21 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 735
Default

If the drives are in an enclosure, you can't run them in RAID, right?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 02:27 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 735
Default

Oh, I think I can answer my question. Looks like one can do this? I could get something like this and I'd want to run it in Raid 1?:

Mediasonic HUR1-SU2S2 Dual Bay RAID 3.5" SATA HDD Enclosure USB 2.0 & eSATA Black
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2010, 10:12 PM
M1K3Z0R's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London/Brantford ON
Posts: 48

My System Specs

Default

+1 for this drive. Got 2 of them in enclosures, run very quiet and cool
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes