Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 10:04 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

You need to look at usage, cost, and risk.

Are these large files temporary working files? If so, would you really need to back them up?

Are the files static? Can you off load them to DVD once for backup or do you have to keep updating the backups as things change?

RAID provides some redundancy but is not a backup solution. The RAID is not going to help if lightning roasts the hardware or you accidentaly delete the wrong directory.

Given that failure rates of hard disks are pretty low what kind of risk are you willing to take? Is $500 investment worth it for protection against .001% chance of failure? RAID 0+1 is overkill IMHO. The only time you would need that is for mission critical data. What will it really cost you if you loose this stuff? If it will ruin your life you need to concentrate on a propper backup system and make sure you use it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 02:36 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

OK, For instance, tracking @ 24/96 Khz for any length of time creates very large files. If they were important takes etc, they would need to be backed up to optical. Loading different takes and tracks into a multitrack environment is where the speed increas would be noticable. Some of these files are over a gig easily... I am just wondering as maybe Raid0 is not the way to go or perhaps I should just add some more drives instead of Raiding them. The failure rate is not really a concern becasue if it was that important I have backup or would make backups. I have been in the PC game for a long time and learned the backup lesson quite early. Thx for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 03:49 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

I'd suggest getting two fast drives and using them in RAID0, and then either manually or automatically backing them up somewhere else, say optical discs or other hard drives
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 03:59 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

I am gonna go with a new RAID array after I get a couple other items. Thx for the help guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looking for a raid card that does 0+1 cujo Storage 0 March 10, 2008 12:14 PM
Raid 0 set up correctly? SyrousPL Storage 8 December 4, 2007 03:49 PM
raid help Jhayman Troubleshooting 9 November 8, 2007 02:10 PM
Raid on test rig 3.0charlie Storage 19 June 14, 2007 07:50 PM
xp sees no riad array Jim Troubleshooting 4 March 31, 2007 07:06 PM