Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 12:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 129

My System Specs

Default Replace HDD?

So, I have a couple questions that Google hasn't been very kind in answering.

I was thinking of replacing my HDD, which is a Seagate 7200.10 500GB since it's on the noisy side. It may be my imagination, but it seems to be getting noisier, so I've got a hunch that it may bite the dust in the future.

Is it possible to install a 2nd HDD, say a 7200.12 or Caviar Black (open to suggestions), mirror the primary drive, then swap the drives so the new HDD becomes the primary? I'd probably keep using the old one just as storage for unimportant stuff. Or am I better off doing a full system wipe and starting from scratch?

Also, would there be any noticeable difference in speed from an 7200.10 to one of the drives I mentioned?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 12:51 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Yes , I recommend you install a fresh windows. it will give you also the opportunity to make a good cleaning, you will appreciate the gain in performance too ...... unless you want to keep a special software that you can't reinstall ( i see quite a few of them, in my work , specialise one, with the programmer out of business )

Last edited by MarkOne; February 10, 2010 at 01:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 12:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 95
Default

Yes, you can clone your hard drive onto a new one.

Seagate provides free software you can download to do this with their drives (DiscWizard).

Western Digital also provides free software to download (Acronis TrueImage) which accomplishes the same thing, and is probably better than Seagate's DiscWizard.

If you replace your hard drive with one which is a year or two newer, it's almost a given the replacement will be faster than the model it replaces, whether you will notice that difference is questionable.

I like Seagate hard drives and had long sworn off Western Digital because of problems I had with their older models, but for the past few years I've found them to be solid.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunt View Post
So, I have a couple questions that Google hasn't been very kind in answering.

I was thinking of replacing my HDD, which is a Seagate 7200.10 500GB since it's on the noisy side. It may be my imagination, but it seems to be getting noisier, so I've got a hunch that it may bite the dust in the future.

Is it possible to install a 2nd HDD, say a 7200.12 or Caviar Black (open to suggestions), mirror the primary drive, then swap the drives so the new HDD becomes the primary? I'd probably keep using the old one just as storage for unimportant stuff. Or am I better off doing a full system wipe and starting from scratch?

Also, would there be any noticeable difference in speed from an 7200.10 to one of the drives I mentioned?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 01:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 129

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
Yes , I recommend you install a fresh windows. it will give you also the opportunity to make a good cleaning, you will appreciate the gain in performance too ...... unless you want to keep a special software that you can't reinstall ( i see quite a few of them, in my word , specialise one, with the programmer out of business )
Software isn't an issue, just don't want to spend the 3-4 hours setting everything up again. I just recently put on Win7, and don't want to go through it again so soon.

It's mainly because I'm lazy. Maybe I'll just do the full upgrade (mobo, cpu, ram, and HDD) all at once and do a fresh install again. Hopefully my HDD lasts for another little while.

Canker, thanks for the info regarding the software! Greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 01:33 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunt View Post
Software isn't an issue, just don't want to spend the 3-4 hours setting everything up again. I just recently put on Win7, and don't want to go through it again so soon.
+1 very annoying.

Don't know if cloning work well under 7 , never try it , just make sure you select the good drive, we don't want you copy the new disk in the old one.

But think about my improvement in speed if you make a fresh install. Even if you put a new drive, it will not improve if your OS is a mess, and they are always messy after a wild
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 02:31 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

there's always Ninite Easy PC Setup - Download/Install Multiple Programs Fast it always help save time. jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 02:35 PM
Raserei408's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South of the border
Posts: 495
Default

For HDDs:

If you're planning to get under 1TB I recommend the Caviar Black 640GB. If you're looking at 1TBs I'd take the Spinpoint F3 (though the Caviar Black is a good option too, but it's more expensive and slower. Still, better warranty and apparently RMA service in Canada).

I'd check out a program called HDClone. It's OS-independent; you burn it to a disk, boot from the CD, then it copies over the HDD outside the OS. The free version, I believe, can only go to a HDD the same size or larger than the original, which shouldn't be a problem in this case. Not sure how this compares to Seagate's and WD's programs.
__________________
"If dancing is sure to result in failure then you must dance anyway."
Lo Mein said that, and I think he knows a little more about dancing than I do pal, because he invented it! Then he perfected it so that no man could best him in the club of honor.
Then he used his prize money to buy two of every whore on Earth. Then he herded them all onto a boat, then they all beat the crap out of every single one of him.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 02:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 129

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
there's always Ninite Easy PC Setup - Download/Install Multiple Programs Fast it always help save time. jmo
Awesome suggestion! Wish I had of known about that program earlier. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 03:25 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

I've used DriveXML from the Ultimate Boot CD (ubcd4win.com) to successfully clone drives multiple times.

And I love ninite.com, I just used it last week, painless unattended install of a bunch of essential programs for any new Windows install.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 03:56 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 682

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raserei408 View Post
For HDDs:

If you're planning to get under 1TB I recommend the Caviar Black 640GB. If you're looking at 1TBs I'd take the Spinpoint F3 (though the Caviar Black is a good option too, but it's more expensive and slower. Still, better warranty and apparently RMA service in Canada).

.
+1 Samsung spinpoint F3 1tb, just ordered 4. Havent used samsung hard drives before but ive read good things about them. F3 comes in 500gb and 1tb flavor (500gb platters)
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Looking to replace what i lost Beermaster Buy/Sell & Trade 9 October 14, 2009 11:27 PM
Looking to replace Z-5500 speakers with something better. OmegaRED Audio 7 September 30, 2009 05:18 AM
Replace GPU sticker... mattlef Off Topic 4 September 28, 2009 08:43 PM
Some new parts, to replace old ones AmuseMe New Builds 9 July 6, 2009 02:45 PM
Replace TIM on gtx275? somecanadianguy Video Cards 6 June 19, 2009 11:51 PM