Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 08:50 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 15
Default Upgrade to SSD question

Hello. Currently I'm running a raid 0 configuration on an Asus Maximus III Formula board with Windows 7. I'd like to upgrade to an SSD to be used as a boot drive. My question is can I use a single SSD with my current raid set up? Is there anything special I need to to, or can I just plug the drive in and everything will work?

Also should I install a new copy of 7 on the SSD then erase it off the raid? Or can I plug in the SSD go into windows and move 7 over to the the SSD (is that even possible?). If I have to go the route of erasing it off the raid, will that mess up the programs I have on the raid?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 08:59 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

You have a nice motherboard and a nice question too. and quite on time I say something also this morning in another post about some concern using raid with SSD. At least the interaction the Intel raid bios can have on them

Let see what our expert have to say



Quote:
Originally Posted by Vdub90 View Post
.Or can I plug in the SSD go into windows and move 7 over to the the SSD (is that even possible?).Thanks.
to this want I can say no. You way better to do a fresh install on it. SSD use different way to deal with the allocation of the files on them.....it's the most I can go on it, AkG is far better than me to explain it
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 09:29 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks for the reply. I would definetly do a fresh install of 7 on the SSD. If I set the SSD as boot, would the version of 7 on the raid mess with anything?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 09:56 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

If you are doing a fresh install...which I would. I would unplug the RAID'ed drives...heck ALL hard drives but the SSD to make sure windows doesnt install anything important unto one of the other drives. Would really suck if when you break you raid (for example) and the OS no longer works. Thats how I do it, regardless of SSD or HDD is the drive being installed to. Plenty of time afterwards to add back the raid afterwards ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 06:57 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
If you are doing a fresh install...which I would. I would unplug the RAID'ed drives...heck ALL hard drives but the SSD to make sure windows doesnt install anything important unto one of the other drives. Would really suck if when you break you raid (for example) and the OS no longer works. Thats how I do it, regardless of SSD or HDD is the drive being installed to. Plenty of time afterwards to add back the raid afterwards ;)

Thanks. So if I unplug the raided disks, and install on the ssd. When I plug the raided disks back in they will still be recognized as a raid and the ssd seperate?

I have installed 7 about 4 times now, and I just want to cover all the bases that I won't end up losing all my data again. Re-installing all my programs,games in particular, damn you Wow. lol.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 08:04 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vdub90 View Post
Thanks. So if I unplug the raided disks, and install on the ssd. When I plug the raided disks back in they will still be recognized as a raid and the ssd seperate?

I have installed 7 about 4 times now, and I just want to cover all the bases that I won't end up losing all my data again. Re-installing all my programs,games in particular, damn you Wow. lol.
SSD will be worth it. Make sure you get a SSD that supports TRIM, update the firmware if required, and then as mentioned, do a fresh install with Windows 7.

Which SSD supports TRIM? Pick some in your price range and post on here and the real experts (not me) will help you pretty quickly.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 04:15 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vdub90 View Post
Thanks. So if I unplug the raided disks, and install on the ssd. When I plug the raided disks back in they will still be recognized as a raid and the ssd seperate?

I have installed 7 about 4 times now, and I just want to cover all the bases that I won't end up losing all my data again. Re-installing all my programs,games in particular, damn you Wow. lol.
Cant see why that wont work. BUT it has been a loooooong time since I ran software Raid for data only storage (as C drive level of importance I always back up multiple times via Acronis!). Someone else might be able to answer that better than I can. But if I was really worried about the data, I would make an image of it with acronis and back that up to my NAS, external enclosure, another hdd or even to DVDs. Then you would be sure the data is safe come hell or high water ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 07:33 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Cant see why that wont work. BUT it has been a loooooong time since I ran software Raid for data only storage (as C drive level of importance I always back up multiple times via Acronis!). Someone else might be able to answer that better than I can. But if I was really worried about the data, I would make an image of it with acronis and back that up to my NAS, external enclosure, another hdd or even to DVDs. Then you would be sure the data is safe come hell or high water ;)
I'm not to worried about the data. I've done it a bunch of times before just takes a while sorting through getting all my programs loaded again more of a pain than anything.

I was thinking one of these 2 for the drive
NCIX.com - Buy Intel X25-M 80GB 34NM Postville 2.5IN SSD SATA Solid State Disk Flash Drive - SSDSA2MH080G2C1 In Canada.
NCIX.com - Buy G.SKILL Falcon II 128GB Indilinx Eco 2.5IN SATA2 Solid State Disk Flash Drive SSD W/ 64MB Buffer - FM-25S2I-128GBF2 In Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 08:02 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

out of those ssd i would pick the first one
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2010, 08:15 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

The X25M gen 2 by a WIDE margin would be my first pick IF 80GB's is enough room for you. The X25m gen 2 is a enthusiast grade / "flagship" model. The F2 is a more mid tier model.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firmware question for ssd gingerbee Storage 4 October 23, 2012 09:39 AM
upgrade question tri5cui7 CPU's and Motherboards 11 February 9, 2010 09:50 PM
I7, I5 or a simple SSD upgrade MarkOne New Builds 5 October 27, 2009 09:50 AM
Upgrade Question boing CPU's and Motherboards 1 August 16, 2009 07:20 PM
Yet another question about SSD Dave510 Storage 9 April 18, 2009 08:29 AM