Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 01:54 AM
kaufman37's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Default Windows 7 And External Hard Drives

Alright so i just finished my computer 2 weeks ago its been running great but today i have been trying to get all my 1tb of [data] off of my external hard drive its a WD GEEN 1TB in an ThermalTake BLACX enclosure i plug it into my use port and windows safe removal pops up but nothing else i can't access it from my computer and it shows up in device manager as "Generic External USB Device" any ideas why i can't access it? im running windows 7 here my rig specs

thanks kauf

CPU: Intel Core i7 920 D0
Motherboard: EVGA X58 SLI LE
Case: Cooler Master Haf 932
CD/DVD DRIVE: Liteon 20X DVD Writer
HARD DRIVE : Western Digital Caviar black 500GB
CPU Cooler: Coolermaster Hyper 212
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 275
PSU: Coolermaster Silent Pro 1000W
RAM: Patriot Extreme Performance Pgs 6GB 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
__________________


Last edited by 3.0charlie; February 9, 2010 at 07:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 09:40 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 276
Default

Four things come to mind:
  1. did you wait? W7 needs to look it over first. Mine took about 10 minutes first time.
  2. do you have indexing turned off/on ?
  3. did you use a high-speed port?
  4. transferring 1 TB of [data] at 4 am? (ok, that's not a question)

Last edited by 3.0charlie; February 9, 2010 at 07:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 09:47 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Very strange problem, you should send me that drive for futher analysis

try to open the disk management console and look if the drive is activated.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 04:31 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Arrow RMA

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaufman37 View Post
... l my 1tb of [data]...
Honesty on the Internet is so refreshing.

Assuming the WD is was working when you copied all your... data... to it then my guess is the BLACX is broken. I have one and it works just like any other removable drive.

Connect the WD internally to make sure it is still working. If so, try your BLACX with another drive and on another computer. The thing is a black box (figuratively and literally) so there is not much else to do but RMA it.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham

Last edited by 3.0charlie; February 9, 2010 at 07:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 04:37 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Rabbit View Post
Honesty on the Internet is so refreshing.

Assuming the WD is was working when you copied all your... data... to it then my guess is the BLACX is broken. I have one and it works just like any other removable drive.

Connect the WD internally to make sure it is still working. If so, try your BLACX with another drive and on another computer. The thing is a black box (figuratively and literally) so there is not much else to do but RMA it.
but what about the [data]? also, the Internet is there for [data], I keep all my HDD space for illegally downloaded movies and music.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.

Last edited by 3.0charlie; February 9, 2010 at 07:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 05:30 PM
kaufman37's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeepSix View Post
Four things come to mind:
  1. did you wait? W7 needs to look it over first. Mine took about 10 minutes first time.
  2. do you have indexing turned off/on ?
  3. did you use a high-speed port?
  4. transferring 1 TB of [data] at 4 am? (ok, that's not a question)
1. i just left it for over an hour nothing....
2. i don't know what that is...
3.yes it is plugged into a high speed port
4. i need my [data] on my hard drive since my internet is always down
__________________


Last edited by 3.0charlie; February 9, 2010 at 07:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 05:32 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is online now
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,392
Default

Sounds like a dead blackX to me. Power down the system. Install the hard drive and see if it is recognized. If it isnt....its a dead drive and not a dead enclosure.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 05:33 PM
kaufman37's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
Very strange problem, you should send me that drive for futher analysis

try to open the disk management console and look if the drive is activated.
nope it dosnet show up in disk management
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 05:35 PM
kaufman37's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 42
Default

i pluged it into my laptop witch is also running windows 7 and it worked flawlessly
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 05:39 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is online now
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,392
Default

Try a USB port on the back of your system and not a front panel port. Maybe its just a wonky USB port.
IF that doesnt work. Go into control panel and uninstall all the items listed under USB controllers. Reboot let windows reinstall them and try again. Might be a wonky driver.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Hard Drive Randyman Storage 8 October 26, 2009 05:05 PM
External hard drives... but a different way CMetaphor Off Topic 9 July 15, 2009 01:29 PM
Best External hard drives? Realityshift Storage 4 April 19, 2009 01:09 AM
External Hard Drive JD Storage 15 September 5, 2008 03:25 PM
Good cheap external hard drive. belgolas Storage 9 May 20, 2008 10:48 PM