Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2010, 07:21 AM
BigDogg's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kitchener/Waterloo
Posts: 187

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fudd Rucker View Post
What I did was run my 2 x WD blacks in RAID0 with select folders that do a daily backup to my 1TB WD green. Setup is signifigantly faster with a 2 drive array, a 4 drive array would be damn fine.
This is the almost the same setup I am running... I have 3x640 GB WD Black in Raid-0 with a 1TB WD Green I use for backups.. I get 1.7TB on the raid in windows and I get average reads around 200MB+/sec. I know the concerns about running raid-0 but I wanted performance.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2010, 07:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDogg View Post
This is the almost the same setup I am running... I have 3x640 GB WD Black in Raid-0 with a 1TB WD Green I use for backups.. I get 1.7TB on the raid in windows and I get average reads around 200MB+/sec. I know the concerns about running raid-0 but I wanted performance.
Same kind of setup me too. Manual backup
If I were the OP I would do a 3 drives raid0 with a backup drive.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2010, 07:54 AM
BigDogg's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kitchener/Waterloo
Posts: 187

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megaclocker View Post
Same kind of setup me too. Manual backup
If I were the OP I would do a 3 drives raid0 with a backup drive.
I was pretty blown away by the speed of the drives. My transfer rate from a single WD Black to my WD Green in windows was about 35 MB/sec after the raid I was copying files between the Raid and my Green at over 70 MB/sec. I think that was the write limit on the Green :) If SSD's were so crazy expensive I would love to try those in raid, but even $160 for 60GB is way to much for me.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2010, 07:54 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

if nothing but speed was the concern then an ssd or 2 in raid0 blows any hd outta the water. or try short stroking them hd there you'll get better read/write speeds.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
raid 0 Sharp-Shooter Storage 3 December 24, 2009 04:00 PM
Raid 0, never more MarkOne Storage 12 November 28, 2009 08:47 PM
raid 51? bissa Storage 2 September 15, 2009 07:06 PM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 09:58 AM
raid help Jhayman Troubleshooting 9 November 8, 2007 01:10 PM