Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2010, 10:03 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default gskill wiper

ok i have used the ocz wiper to clean my a-data's but now i have tried to clean my falcons using gskill wiper ( the disk is on disko but there only storage ) all that happens is the window pops up real quick then closes.
My question is has anyone gotten this to work on storage drives and not just with an os on it. all my os's are 64 bit any help or advice.
p.s oh i tried to run the ocz wiper too no joy
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2010, 10:12 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is online now
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

are you using a system with a HDD as your OS drive? I've run the wiper (they are all the same) on many Indi's as data drives....but only when the OS drive was NOT a SSD. If you OS is a SSD you may have to yank the Indi and put it in another HDD based system.
What firmware are you running? IF it is the latest GSkill, trim is in it, ITGC and wiper.exe support were removed so THAT may be the reason it is not working.
Does the wiper program do anything or say anything? IE does it do a 0 -100 count like the speed of light fast or is it just not finding your ssd?
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2010, 10:24 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

i am running the newest firmware 1819 and yes i have an warp v2 as the os drive. it just flashes up on the screen and then gone does not say anything. I will be flashing back to 1571 soon. so itgc and wiper where removed from 1819? thank for the help akg.
thinking it's just because i have firmware that does not support it
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2010, 10:53 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is online now
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

I'm not 100% sure (so I may be wrong) but it is my understanding that along with ITGC they yanked wiper.exe Something to do with it occasionally bricking drives as a trim call was being performed at the same time or some such (cant remember). Basically, once 1.5 hits all this will be a bad yet very distant memory as it will have BOTH ITGC and TRIM in the same firmware. So yeah, Id flash back to 1571 (a faster firmware anyways) and wait for 1.5 :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2010, 10:53 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

got it , you were right it was the firmware thank akg. back to 1571 for now
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ocz wiper vs Sanitary Erase gingerbee Storage 3 January 25, 2010 03:12 PM
GSkill Ripjaws and other i5 ram Questions mattlef RAM 12 September 3, 2009 09:33 AM
Gskill can i rma it? PLEASE RESPOND asap:) WolfBane RAM 18 August 21, 2009 05:28 PM
Gskill ram problem. Mysteryous RAM 8 May 19, 2009 05:11 PM
Gskill DDr3 ram. UberMoo RAM 1 December 1, 2007 10:26 PM