Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 15, 2010, 11:03 AM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default Raid information

I'm just trying to figure out this whole raid thing...I don't know very much about it at all.
I've been using the raid on my mobo for about 2 months now and I'm not having any problems or anything...but its raised some questions that I'm having difficulty finding proper answers on my own.
I'm not only considering this for the speed difference, but because I have no internal sata connectors left and was considering getting an addon card for more, but then got looking at raid cards instead :P

1. I was of the understanding that the raid on my mobo was just "software" based. I decided to consider looking at hardware based and was reading different things. I found a guide to raid and i guess it wasn't terrific because I'm here looking for clarification. So first off, am I right to say that my mobo has software raid? I just saw this question answered in another section...Thanks

2. Whether I am correct in the above or not, would I see a tremendous difference buying a separate raid controller, or would it be nominal, or no difference?

3. After looking at Raid cards and looking at different guides and such, I started questioning what exactly is hardware raid and how can i tell for sure that a card is HARDWARE and not software based? The varying prices threw me and I wasn't really sure what I was looking at.

4. Would I be correct to assume that if I bought a hardware raid controller, my other drives hoooked through my motherboard would no longer be "extra drives" in the raid as they are now? (I hope I didn't lose anyone here lol)

5. I've also began to wonder about compatibility, are raid controllers finicky about being compatible? Are they compatible with SSD's, or does this change my options?

Thanks in advance.