Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 11:40 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Regina, Sask.
Posts: 40
Default Network Switch(es) Query

Hey guys, I need to buy a couple of switches.
1 - in the basement with 8 ports
1 - 2nd story of the house with 8 ports

I prefer a gigabit switch. I have a few HTPC's, two PC's, 1 camera, PS3, then the rest is like TV's with network support, printer, AVR, etc

I am looking for switch without a fan, and something that is a great bang for the buck. House is wired in Cat6a. I would imagine jumbo frame support is required. dont think i need anything managed, but I know nothing about this networking stuff so looking for some good advice before I make the wrong purchase...hehe...

thanks
S
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 12:56 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

I've always been happy with my dlink 8 port gigabit switch, no issues with it at all, runs dead silent.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 01:30 PM
m1dget's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Terrebonne, Qc
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

GS108 - ProSafeŽ 8-port Gigabit Ethernet Desktop Switch 10/100/1000 Mbps - NETGEAR.com

I've had that switch for the past 2 years and it never let me down :)
__________________
"NIX is a classic example of security through obscurity because there is no real monetary reward for crackers and hackers to break Linix" -AkG
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 03:20 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

Got a 8-port non-green D-Link Gigabit switch and a 5-port Green D-Link Gigabit switch. Both have worked flawlessly for quite some time. Also have a 5-port Negear Gigabit switch as well which also hasn't had any issues.

I don't think any unmanaged switch has problems. They don't exactly need to do much.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 03:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,579
Default

I've found that there's not an amazing amount of difference between switches coming from different vendors.. I've had or have Linksys, d-link and belkin switches and I've not had a problem with any one of them.

I'd just look for the cheapest 8 port passively cooled gigabit switch XD
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 09:37 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

I second netgear prosafe. I have a 24 port gigabit and it's been running 24/7 for the last 3 years with no issues. Also most prosafe equipment is in a metal encolsure and some of the larger ones are rack mountable. I also think it has a lifetime warranty but i am not sure 100% on that.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2010, 03:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Regina, Sask.
Posts: 40
Default

Perfect - thnx guys.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2010, 04:23 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

If you don't mind eBaying look for the Dell 27xx series switches. They are tanks and passively cooled. In normal mode they do everything gigabit networking can do. If you put them in managed mode they are fully managed which is nice to have in case you want to use it later.

Dell sold the 2708 for $100 new so there are a lot of them and they go pretty cheap. I've seen them sell for twenty-ish shipping in.

I agree, though, that is is pretty hard to get a poor unmanaged switch. Any name brand should work just fine.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 - Retail / OEM Availability Query rjbarker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 October 16, 2009 02:02 PM
Fallout 3 AA and AF Sampling Query rjbarker Gaming 8 December 24, 2008 11:55 AM
Intel Burntest Query rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 22 December 8, 2008 11:06 PM
QX9650 Query.. rjbarker CPU's and Motherboards 11 December 6, 2008 06:29 AM
TJ09 Fan Arrangement Query rjbarker Air Cooling 3 November 12, 2008 06:24 PM