Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 01:14 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

For peeps who want EVERY bit of performance its an option but Im not a fond lover of it. For many people who purchase an SSD it will be awhile before they upgrade and thus its not a great way of doing things. One thing worth noting about the OCZ forum is it populated by SSD enthusiasts who will be on to the next big thing loooong before they prematurely wear out a drive. Great place for information and tips and tricks....but their idea of reasonable wear and tear may vary a lot from yours ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 01:16 PM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
yes your ahci/raid drivers there normally the same drivers load the ahci drivers then reboot and on reboot set your sata ports to ahci then you should be able to boot just fine.
Can I install these driver from Windows, because when I tried I got a message that my systeme doesn't have the minimum requirements for such and installation....
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 01:21 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,084

My System Specs

Default

HOWTO: enable AHCI mode after installing Windows - PC Perspective Forums
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 07:25 AM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the info but I have decided to do a full reinstall, a bit longer for sure but anyways I'll know how to do it the next time.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2010, 07:30 AM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

oups double post
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2010, 02:21 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
For peeps who want EVERY bit of performance its an option but Im not a fond lover of it. For many people who purchase an SSD it will be awhile before they upgrade and thus its not a great way of doing things. One thing worth noting about the OCZ forum is it populated by SSD enthusiasts who will be on to the next big thing loooong before they prematurely wear out a drive. Great place for information and tips and tricks....but their idea of reasonable wear and tear may vary a lot from yours ;)
by how much does it decrease the life of your drive by? I do want maximum performance out of my old drive to match my new one, so it doesn't slow down the raid.

I'm leaning towards flashing to 1.4.1 -> wiper.exe -> reformat to windows 7 -> itgc

EDIT: i also forgot, i tried searching for this, but when i run raid, I need to switch my bios to raid from IDE. Will i still be able to access the information on my secondary harddrives? I'm pretty sure I will (I think i've done it before, but I can't remember) but its better to be safe than sorry
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)

Last edited by Phobia; January 9, 2010 at 02:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2010, 02:56 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

How much life decrease will doing a sani wipe once?....not much (its cumulative). If you want to make sure they are in peak performance, do it once before you setup your raid, and then run ITGC firmware on them. The increased cell life reduction will be minuscule in the grand shceme of things.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2010, 03:38 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

perfect. thank you sir!
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 01:06 PM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

I am glad I purchased this drive, I can certainly see a difference and this specifically in application load time, it is quick.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Vertex 120GB SSD Review Comment Thread AkG Storage 5 July 18, 2009 10:39 AM
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD quikgp Buy/Sell & Trade 8 July 2, 2009 06:35 AM
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD, OCZ 3GB Triple Channel RAM Dave510 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 May 25, 2009 03:58 PM
OCZ Technology Announces Vertex EX 2.5” SLC-based SSD MAC Press Releases & Tech News 13 April 24, 2009 04:40 PM