Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2009, 10:18 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,339
Default

IF you are running fw 1.4 (i.e. the TRIM firmware) there is no need to run the wiper program and in fact doing so does increase the chances (from zero to above zero ;) ) of getting data corruption. Wiper.exe was a interim work-around until they could get real TRIM into their firmware.

If you are not running a TRIM aware OS (like XP for example) or Raid'ing them you are much better off running 1.4.1. ITGC was turned off in 1.4 as it could potential cause problems w/ TRIM (and vice versa).

Now with that said 1.4.1 + Wiper.exe is a great combo. Guaranteed to get the best performance all the time.

YMMV :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2009, 12:35 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Now with that said 1.4.1 + Wiper.exe is a great combo. Guaranteed to get the best performance all the time.
I don't bother with that wiper thing. To restore speed, I make a full W7 backup image on one of my mechanical HDs and then I perform a sanitary erase on my Vertex drives. Then, I restore from the W7 image. That seems to give me 99% new performance.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 Windforce | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2009, 12:42 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oversized Rooster View Post
I perform a sanitary erase on my Vertex drives.
how? and i am pretty sure that wiper would be a better idea no? cause what i think your doing is writing to all blocks where wiper just tells (the controller or the os not sure) what blocks are free. because writing to all blocks help kill it quicker no? thank for any info
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2009, 02:55 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,339
Default

That is certainly one way of doing it OversizedRooster. Of course it is also one of the fastest ways to burn out your SSD that I have heard of in a long while. TRIM/ITGC/Wiper.exe just refreshen cells which are in a used stated but not being used (i.e. contain invalid data). The way you are doing it is a full complete drive refresh. Intel recommended doing it that way because that is all they could think to do and didnt want to implement a wiper.exe type workaround. It is hard on the cells and basically decreases the cell life by 1 every time you do it.

YMMV but I wouldn't do it that way. Either use 1.41 and rely on ITGC (which is what I do) or use 1.4 and let the OS deal with it.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 02:13 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default

interesting about the sanitary wipe.. i was going to preform that on my drive when i set up my raid. What method should i use to restore my vertex that i'm using now? I've got xp on it and its got 1.25 firmware on it (althoguh i'm not 100% sure that's what its called, as I'm posting this from a hotel in LA). I know it can be flashed though. I plan on flashing them to 1.4.1.
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 02:48 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

just use ocz wiper tool it works great. even on my a-data's ( that are indilinx )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 02:49 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,339
Default

If you plan on using ITGC 1.4.1. let it idle for a hour or three (depends on how badly degraded it is) at the desktop, no need to log out or anything like that. It will take care of itslef ;)
OR after you upgrade to 1.4.1 run wiper.exe it will refreshen the cells for you. :)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 12:21 PM
Wurmer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
For TRIM to work some are saying you will need AHCI enabled in the BIOS. I would error on the side of caution and use this instead of IDE mode. Not much dif between IDE and AHCI mode so might as well be safe. ;)
Ok you are saying that in the BIOS I should set the device to AHCI just to make sure that TRIM works ?

I've never done that before but just changing it in the bios seems to cause a problem and my computer refuses to boot. It's there something that should be installed before doing this like drivers or some such ?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 01:56 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

yes your ahci/raid drivers there normally the same drivers load the ahci drivers then reboot and on reboot set your sata ports to ahci then you should be able to boot just fine.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2010, 02:01 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
That is certainly one way of doing it OversizedRooster. Of course it is also one of the fastest ways to burn out your SSD that I have heard of in a long while. TRIM/ITGC/Wiper.exe just refreshen cells which are in a used stated but not being used (i.e. contain invalid data). The way you are doing it is a full complete drive refresh. Intel recommended doing it that way because that is all they could think to do and didnt want to implement a wiper.exe type workaround. It is hard on the cells and basically decreases the cell life by 1 every time you do it.

YMMV but I wouldn't do it that way. Either use 1.41 and rely on ITGC (which is what I do) or use 1.4 and let the OS deal with it.
You make a fair point that sanitary wipe "wears out" the drive faster but I don't care because I intend on moving to dual Intel drives or dual Vertex 2 Pro drives in a few months. I've only done sanitary erase twice in the drives' life times. I like it because it's instant so no waiting and it brings back 99% or more of the "new" performance.

Actually the sanitary erase method was recommended to me by a moderator on the OCZ forums and this method is apparently popular for many users.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 Windforce | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Vertex 120GB SSD Review Comment Thread AkG Storage 5 July 18, 2009 11:39 AM
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD quikgp Buy/Sell & Trade 8 July 2, 2009 07:35 AM
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD, OCZ 3GB Triple Channel RAM Dave510 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 May 25, 2009 04:58 PM
OCZ Technology Announces Vertex EX 2.5” SLC-based SSD MAC Press Releases & Tech News 13 April 24, 2009 05:40 PM