Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2007, 03:20 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default answer this

wierd but thinking about it if i copy everything off one sata drive and paste it to the otehr can i take out the first drive and run xp with all the programs and everthing installed on the new drive??

eg
western digital 200 gig primary rite now
maxtor 250 gig secondard drive

want to make it
Maxtor primary and sell the western digital
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2007, 04:08 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid-X View Post
wierd but thinking about it if i copy everything off one sata drive and paste it to the otehr can i take out the first drive and run xp with all the programs and everthing installed on the new drive??

eg
western digital 200 gig primary rite now
maxtor 250 gig secondard drive

want to make it
Maxtor primary and sell the western digital
Only way that'll work is if you "Ghost" it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2007, 07:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: t. bay, on
Posts: 12
Default

id hold onto the WD and sell the maxtor before it goes down in flames like all maxtors.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2007, 11:23 AM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

My Maxtor Diamondmax9's are still running just fine :s
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2007, 07:33 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

My 120GB Maxtor DiamondMax9 SATA died. Out of no-wheres too. One day I just got hit by a corrupted MFT file. Never got back all the files on it, lost a ton of pictures. Ended up having a whole bunch of bad sectors or "moved" sectors. That day sucked. It actually happened just when I was about to move everything off it onto my new 250GB WD hard drive. Funny how that worked out.

Anyways, keep the WD. I've had much better luck with them over Maxtors. But if you must switch, SeaTools/MaxBlast or something should do what you want for free.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Help~answer the questions> < dracozhu Troubleshooting 6 March 8, 2008 02:17 PM
Finally! Apple's answer to all those grandmothers wanting to browse the internet! MacJunky Press Releases & Tech News 8 February 5, 2008 03:43 PM
lol answer this Rapid-X RAM 4 May 31, 2007 04:16 AM