Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2009, 07:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 44
Default raid 0

hey guys i got three hard drives
two of which is the Velociraptor 160gb 10,000rpm
one is seagate 500gb 7,200rpm


i want the best performance should i go with just the 2 raptors on raid 0 or should i make all 3 on raid 0?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 05:08 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

you get out the Seagate from the equation
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 09:56 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,983

My System Specs

Default

W/ RAID0 you want:
1. The drives to be the same size
2. You want the drives to be the same speed.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2009, 04:00 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

Absolutely - DO NOT use the seagate in the array. The slow access time of the Seagate is enough to wipe out any STR gains you might theoretically get. Chances are it will slow down STR as well. Also, please remember, even though the VelociRaptors are genuine enterprise models, and are built to higher quality standards than standard 7200 rpm desktop models, a failure in either will, still, more than likely, cause the loss of all data on both drives.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID Bubbzilla Storage 3 October 26, 2009 05:31 AM
raid 1+0 kyle_L Storage 3 October 18, 2009 02:38 PM
raid 51? bissa Storage 2 September 15, 2009 07:06 PM
Help with RAID 1 Jackquelegs Storage 2 May 30, 2009 12:44 PM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 09:58 AM