Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 18, 2009, 12:18 AM
MVP
F@H

My System Specs

Default Some questions about RAID

Hey experts, I'm relatively new to RAID, but I've been doing a little bit of research lately. I've read my mobo manual and am relatively confident in setting up a software based RAID 0 (Asus P6T X58, specs in the drop-down).

I saw an article written last year that had some benchmarks showing little improvements in boot times of a RAID configuration, but showed good scaling results when installing or writing/reading. Has anything changed since then that may have optimized this?

In my manual, it says RAID 0 is for two disks, but I'm pretty sure one could RAID, say, three or four drives right (in RAID 0)? In theory, I should see a three-fold gain in read/write speeds over a single drive if I have three drives in RAID 0 right? Are there any gains in those other factors, such as random access time?

Does putting, say, three Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB drives in RAID 0 provide results near that of a low to mid end SSD? Even if it were close to the performance of an SSD, I would still have 3TB of storage over 80GB, in terms of money ($100 per 1TB HDD, ~$300 per 80GB Intel SSD).

Thanks in advance for any insight on this topic.
Old December 18, 2009, 05:45 AM
Rookie

I've read a lot of articles over the years but haven't seen much lately with all the hype around SSD now. Yes you could do a RAID 0 configuration with more than two drive (assuming the controller supported it) but I don't know that the performance increase would be 3 or 4 times a two drive setup. In real world software tests RAID 0 doesn't show that much of an increase in performance although synthetic benchmark performance does increase.
Old December 18, 2009, 06:10 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs