Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 08:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Burlington,Ontario
Posts: 54
Default Vertex SSD ??

I'm considering a 60G OCZ Vertex after reading such great reviews about them..anyone on HWC have them and what config, any probs etc.. This will be my 1st SSD and the only thing confusing thus far is firmware and flashing to me.. I was almost considering an SAS drive also for my graphic work PC..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 08:59 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

vertex are indilinx there all the same ssd's at heart pretty much i have 2 x 64 gb gskill in raid0 and there fast as all hell same with my 2 x 32gb a-data's also indilinx and squeetard is running 3 x 60gb vertex i think. i would suggest getting a vertex for sure there the inside man at indilinx so the get there firmware a lot early then the rest and there the only one' who have garbage collection working i think.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 06:24 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Burlington,Ontario
Posts: 54
Default

The Vertex is suppose to be on par with the Intel ... I will be just using the Vertex as a boot drive..


Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
vertex are indilinx there all the same ssd's at heart pretty much i have 2 x 64 gb gskill in raid0 and there fast as all hell same with my 2 x 32gb a-data's also indilinx and squeetard is running 3 x 60gb vertex i think. i would suggest getting a vertex for sure there the inside man at indilinx so the get there firmware a lot early then the rest and there the only one' who have garbage collection working i think.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 06:27 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

I use a 60 as boot..im very impressed..
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 07:18 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

I use 2x 30gb Vertex SSDs in RAID0 (ICH9R), and let me tell you, the system flies.

If you ever decide on raiding two Vertex drives, I can post the link to the latest firmware (1.40 & 1.41) that enables GC (garbage collection) on a Vertex SSD array (since trim.exe does not work with RAID arrays).

It effectively eliminates (or at least drastically reduces) long term slowdowns for SSD RAID arrays.

If you prefer single drive, go for it. Can't go wrong either way!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 07:26 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

3-60bg in raid0. It's like having your os on a ramdrive. I flashed the 1.41b firmware that was pulled because of hibernation issues. I don't use hibernation so I have not bothered changing that. I have had no issues at all. I have my os and apps and games on it. I have yet to see a load screen of any kind.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 08:46 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Burlington,Ontario
Posts: 54
Default

Hmm, if I find 1 Vertex is not fasssst enough..I'll get another and Raid0 !!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 09:05 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 747

My System Specs

Default

I had alot of initial problems with mine but once I got all the problems worked it I love it as a OS/Programs drive!
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 09:59 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Burlington,Ontario
Posts: 54
Default

Only real concern i have is flashing the firmware.. Is it true each flash you do, you lose your OS ??
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 10:31 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surk View Post
The Vertex is suppose to be on par with the Intel ... I will be just using the Vertex as a boot drive..
all indilinx ssd's are close to intel read but most have a much faster write then the intel
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Vertex 120GB SSD Review Comment Thread AkG Storage 5 July 18, 2009 11:39 AM
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD quikgp Buy/Sell & Trade 8 July 2, 2009 07:35 AM
OCZ Technology Announces Vertex EX 2.5 SLC-based SSD MAC Press Releases & Tech News 13 April 24, 2009 05:40 PM