Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 09:14 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surk View Post
Yup>> That's fassst enough for me--I will have only a single 60G--is your setup Raid0 with 2x Vertex, and what OS ??
2x 30g Vertex (firmware 1.41), a few tweaks (incl. Intel matrix RAID tweaks) and Vista 64bit SP2.

I'm using my mobo's controller (DFI P35).
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 10:18 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synth View Post
2x 30g Vertex (firmware 1.41), a few tweaks (incl. Intel matrix RAID tweaks) and Vista 64bit SP2.

I'm using my mobo's controller (DFI P35).
what raid tweaks are you talking about ( you mean write back cache on )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 10:43 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
what raid tweaks are you talking about ( you mean write back cache on )
Basically, yup!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 10:57 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

ok just wanted to make sure i was not missing the bus ( even though it's the short bus ha ha thank )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 08:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default

Anyone knows if the Kingston SSD supports Garbage Collection? I know that it currently dosen't support TRIM but I can't seem to find any info regarding GC on the Kingston SSD.
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2009, 07:55 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

I'm pretty sure the 1st version doesn't support GC.

It's not a bad drive though (bought a 64gb one for my HTPC since they were on sale @ NCIX) but definitely not a performance-oriented.

If you go Kingston, go for the V2, unless you can get the V1 on sale.

My .02 !
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2009, 08:02 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I was talking about the new 40GB version they are selling, which is 1/2 of an intel Gen2. 34nm process. So, it does supports GC?
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2009, 08:32 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjanicki View Post
Yeah I was talking about the new 40GB version they are selling, which is 1/2 of an intel Gen2. 34nm process. So, it does supports GC?
y ai would only buy re branded intel stuff form Kingston. jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2009, 10:11 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
y ai would only buy re branded intel stuff form Kingston. jmo
Yeah I bought that, and still waiting to receive it, I'm just trying to find out if it supports GC or not, because I know that the current firmware available does not supports TRIM.
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2009, 07:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Burlington,Ontario
Posts: 54
Default

Ok..bit the bullet..got a single OCZ Vertex 60G (for now:-)) let's see if I'm impressed once installed to do Raidx2 SSD;-))
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Vertex 120GB SSD Review Comment Thread AkG Storage 5 July 18, 2009 11:39 AM
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD quikgp Buy/Sell & Trade 8 July 2, 2009 07:35 AM
OCZ Technology Announces Vertex EX 2.5 SLC-based SSD MAC Press Releases & Tech News 13 April 24, 2009 05:40 PM