Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 01:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Burlington,Ontario
Posts: 54
Default

I was 'toying" with the SAS idea on my new build system that'll be exclusively for Graphic-Web design-Lightroom ... A buddy of mine has a Vertex SSD 60G avail for $~200..so this is why I was gonna try an SD for my OS-apps ONLY.. have a 750G Seagate for backup--files etc.. I suppose I can simply check the firmware version 1st b4 I load up Win7 onto it?
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 02:09 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 746

My System Specs

Default

Yep, changing/flashing the firmware is pretty easy unless the FW version on it is very old, then it becomes a hassle. You cannot flash the firmware from really old version to the newest version, instead you will have to do it sequentially using DIFFERENT flashing methods (depending on how far back the firmware is). Some require a jumper and some don't and some required a boot disk and others don't. The newest version is available on a bootable iso but there is also a method of making a bootable USB drive with all the latest firmwares so you can switch between them. Also, some of the firmwares show up in the bios and some only show up in either the flashing tool or Windows.

These are just all issues I have run across and do not reflex everybodies experience.

Tony trim has been discussed in other SSD manufactures forums so you may want to read what other SSD people are saying but I think it will work on your Falcon SSDs but don't come crying to me if it doesn't work. Please read up more on it before attempting anything.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 02:22 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

yes it works for all ssd's i thought you guys read tonytrim guide it says it all right there. running some test on a warp v2 that has had the hell kicked out of it so far it's not looking good for TT. have the time i think people may kill there drives early because there always worried about the speed in hdtune not real world. will post pics in a sec.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 02:29 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

sorry
ok before TTrim=pic 1

and after TTrim= pic 2
I saw the same results with diskeepers hyperfaast. over all it's slower no point to it i will check with my a-data ssd's too but i expect the same results. imo not worth killing your drive just to get over all slower speeds ya the peak went up but everything else went down. i tried hpeyfaast on several ssd before i gave up on it
Attached Images
   
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 02:34 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 746

My System Specs

Default

You followed the directions exactly?
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 02:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Burlington,Ontario
Posts: 54
Default

With all the research and TT avail--this is what concerns me about killing a SSD prematurely.. I think I'd rather just stick with the manuf firmware version updates to be safer.. until the tweakers work it out with the right Fw programs..just my .002
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 03:32 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varroa View Post
You followed the directions exactly?
um yes to a tee there pretty basic setup try it it's not hard i have it on 2 machines right know and like i said this is not the first time i have tried wiper programs ccleaner has a wiper in it too. most of them in my experience are a waste of time and just burn up an ssd faster for nothing
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 03:33 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surk View Post
With all the research and TT avail--this is what concerns me about killing a SSD prematurely.. I think I'd rather just stick with the manuf firmware version updates to be safer.. until the tweakers work it out with the right Fw programs..just my .002
ya just stick with a good ssd and good firmware and you will have no problems.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 04:07 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 746

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
ya just stick with a good ssd and good firmware and you will have no problems.
That is what I thought with my Agility+TRIM and it killed my data. Sometimes even the best of them (I'm looking at you INTEL ) can manage to mess up their firmware on these SSDs. That is why I recommended to read up on Tony Trim before using it.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 04:17 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

The thing I recommend for my self is stick with 2 x raptor in raid 0 until the SSD industry know what they are doing ...... (Install many firmware, with different method, reinstall the OS between each of them, trim the drive, No support from OCZ except to search in their forum. .... ) So my conclusion is , a new technology very immature.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Varroa View Post
...... That is why I recommended to read up on Tony Trim before using it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCZ Vertex 120GB SSD Review Comment Thread AkG Storage 5 July 18, 2009 11:39 AM
[FS] OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD quikgp Buy/Sell & Trade 8 July 2, 2009 07:35 AM
OCZ Technology Announces Vertex EX 2.5 SLC-based SSD MAC Press Releases & Tech News 13 April 24, 2009 05:40 PM