Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2009, 01:29 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto (North York)
Posts: 214

My System Specs

Default

that is correct.
after partitioning it i would like to dual boot with windows 7.
i have 122gb of free space on it.

can anyone just tell me how to use the --bad-sectors option, i tried typing in the dialoge box of gparted: ntfsresize --bad-sectors partition name(cant remeber), but it says that the partition is fine. When I do the same thing but with -info, i have 2 bad sectors. i did the chkdsk /f /r before and no luck.

Last edited by DenisS; December 7, 2009 at 07:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 10:01 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

standard disclaimer... no warranty, no guarantee, do this at your own risk, don't blame me if you lose all your data.

Here is a good tutorial. ntfsresize is only the first step. It only resizes the file system so you have to resize the partition when it is done. Just add the --bad-sectors switch when you do the resize.

Another option is to truncate the MFT records of the bad sectors. See here for some steps. After using ntfstruncate and chkdsk-ing the drive a couple times you should be able to use gparted to resize your partitions and it will not complain about the bad sectors.

repeated warning... these are the tools that should do what you want. You can make your computer unstable, unbootable, lose data, and other bad things if you do the wrong thing or make a mistake or things are not how you think they are. Best of luck and please let me know how you get along.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 07:23 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto (North York)
Posts: 214

My System Specs

Default

I did the reset of bad sectors, and everything seems to be working fine. Gparted now allows me to partition the drive, but i did not try to do so.Ii will report on the progress later today.

Update: I have created new partition and installed Windows 7 on it. So afr everything works perfectly

Thank you for your help Jack Rabbit .

Last edited by DenisS; December 9, 2009 at 03:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BAD Temps Goalieman077 Air Cooling 58 October 15, 2009 02:59 PM
Upgrade gone bad? Whoopyour Troubleshooting 7 September 27, 2009 08:18 PM
DC - All that bad? JD Off Topic 16 December 24, 2008 07:27 AM
One DIMM bad? ByteMe RAM 14 September 6, 2008 12:24 PM