Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2009, 08:21 PM
Phaddie's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 68
Default Caviar Black 2TB question

Hey Guys..

In the review on this site of the 2TB caviar black the reviewer states that installing the OS in a 200gb partition would increase the speed. Can someone explain to me exactly how and why this would happen?

Also, I just bought one of these drives and will be using it in a new system. It has been years since I have built a non raid system and I am not sure if I remember how to partition a single HDD. Can someone refresh my memory. I will be installing Win7 Ultimate 64bit. My Mainboard is an ASUS p5q-e if that matters..

Thank you in advance

Phad
__________________
ASUS P8-Z68-v PRO, INTEL 2600K @ 4.4 ghz, ZOTAC GTX-580, Lian Li Armour Suit PC-P80, OCZ GamerXStream 700W, Nuctua NH-D14, MUSHKIN 996995, 2TB Caviar Black, 1TB Caviar Black, 120GB Vertex 3, SAMSUNG 245T
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2009, 08:27 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

very simple. if you use the first 200 gb, the zone where the oS will be install is at the outside edge of the plater .. it's where the disk get the more inches per seconds in speed.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2009, 08:29 PM
Phaddie's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 68
Default

Yip that is pretty simple. Thanx.. Also can you refresh my tired bain about how to go about creating this partition? Is Fdisk still a thing that is used? And woudl I do that from the Win7 install CD?

Thanx in advance..
__________________
ASUS P8-Z68-v PRO, INTEL 2600K @ 4.4 ghz, ZOTAC GTX-580, Lian Li Armour Suit PC-P80, OCZ GamerXStream 700W, Nuctua NH-D14, MUSHKIN 996995, 2TB Caviar Black, 1TB Caviar Black, 120GB Vertex 3, SAMSUNG 245T
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2009, 11:17 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

Just use your Windows 7 disk to set up the partition. When you go to install it you will get an option to pick the drive. Just choose the advanced option and then you will have other options appear and you can then just make a partition the size you need. (Hope that makes sense, need sleep)
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 06:13 AM
Phaddie's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 68
Default

Cool... Thanx Guys!!!

I do have another question. This computer currently has a RAID 0 array in it. Is it possible to assign this array to be secondary to the new drive so that I can see the data on it? This will save me having to back up the data to move it to the new drive..

Phad
__________________
ASUS P8-Z68-v PRO, INTEL 2600K @ 4.4 ghz, ZOTAC GTX-580, Lian Li Armour Suit PC-P80, OCZ GamerXStream 700W, Nuctua NH-D14, MUSHKIN 996995, 2TB Caviar Black, 1TB Caviar Black, 120GB Vertex 3, SAMSUNG 245T
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB Hard Drive Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Storage 25 January 5, 2011 04:17 PM
Western Digital to Release 2TB Caviar Black & Enterprise Class Drives FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 September 1, 2009 11:03 AM
WD Caviar Black 640gb Jonwall Storage 27 May 16, 2009 06:28 PM