Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2009, 10:27 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default Raid 0, never more

I just go in my garage after a power failure. BANG “ member offline “ on both drive of my raid 0… on an Intel ich9r…… with good fortune it was a linux as OS. So I recover the problem. I will replace that crap raid 0 solution with a 640 black, when my order will arrive from new egg ( 5 * $ 54.99, that was the limit ) I w2ill use those raid 0 disk only on a bench test PC.

So for the one who use raid 0 on those cheap Intel solution…better have UPS.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2009, 10:56 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Raid 0+1 is my favorite:) If I wont put it 0+1 I have a complete back up done few time a week. By chance you haven't lost anything but...hope you have learn from this my friend;)
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2009, 11:09 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

People should be using a UPS for their computer regardless, RAID or not.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2009, 11:16 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,927

My System Specs

Default

I don't know what else you would expect from RAID0. RAID0 has zero fault tolerance. You should only ever use RAID0 if you want performance and don't care for the data on the drives.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2009, 11:54 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

I have UPS on 80% of my computer , I install the os in this one, last thursday ... I just forget to close it last night . anyway it take 15 minutes to reinstall Ubuntu

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
People should be using a UPS for their computer regardless, RAID or not.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2009, 12:01 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

I instal Ubuntu on this pc , just to see how it perform on a good system, was not worry about any data at all. But even do it will have s..k if I have work 1 month on it, configure it, install some software..

But nothing is lost ...... the intel bios was just mess up, I use a linux utility on a cd to fix it. Good someone have thing to do such utility. But for sure I will not use it on one of my pc anymore. Performance or not I have better thing to do than install an os....anyway with the new SSD raid 0 is useless.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I don't know what else you would expect from RAID0. RAID0 has zero fault tolerance. You should only ever use RAID0 if you want performance and don't care for the data on the drives.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2009, 12:05 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
Raid 0+1 is my favorite:) If I wont put it 0+1 I have a complete back up done few time a week. By chance you haven't lost anything but
I hope you means OS on raid 0 and data on raid 1 ,,,,, because with raid 10 , you will have lost it too.


Quote:
Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
......hope you have learn from this my friend;)
Why you think I post it... to make other understand that those thing can happen on their system with data on it..My drives never fails ..it's the bios of Intel ......



.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2009, 12:25 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,489

My System Specs

Default

Running RAID without a dedicated PCI/PCI-E controller that has it's own processor and memory is garbage anyways. Motherboard RAID is slow on its best days.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2009, 12:40 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

You have never set a raid 1 over a raid 0? I think it's raid matrix??? this is nice.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2009, 12:41 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
Running RAID without a dedicated PCI/PCI-E controller that has it's own processor and memory is garbage anyways. Motherboard RAID is slow on its best days.
for one time I will agree with you at 98 % the 2 % missing is because you forget to add this accessory to the PCI-e controler





it's a battery back-up for the raid card.. we never know when a PSU can fail


.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
raid 51? bissa Storage 2 September 15, 2009 07:06 PM
Help with Raid 0 JerryZ Storage 1 August 10, 2009 08:15 AM
Help with RAID 1 Jackquelegs Storage 2 May 30, 2009 12:44 PM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 09:58 AM
raid help Jhayman Troubleshooting 9 November 8, 2007 01:10 PM