Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 04:45 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coffeemen View Post
Thanks, but what i was asking is how do you capture the image for CrystakDiskMark.
With the window that you want to capture, ctrl + alt + prt scr. Then paste it in paint program, save the file in JPG.

Last edited by Garu; December 1, 2009 at 04:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 11:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Granby, Quebec
Posts: 6

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garu View Post
With the window that you want to capture, ctrl + alt + prt scr. Then paste it in paint program, save the file in JPG.
Thank you for the info

You convince me to get two Velociraptor
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2009, 06:14 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

Ah well, these online forums are dangerous place.
But 2 x Velociraptors are lots of joy. I hope you receive your drives soon and do some comparison tests with my setup.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2009, 06:27 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

just press print screen there no need for Ctrl or Alt and then paste in paint. and for the cost of a vraptor you can get a good ssd. fyi
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2009, 06:41 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 41

My System Specs

Default

Ctrl and Alt will copy only the window that you want, that way you don't need to edit anything.
SSDs are good and kill Velociraptor in performance but I don't think the cost is still not at where general population may consider for one.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2009, 07:24 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Granby, Quebec
Posts: 6

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
for the cost of a vraptor you can get a good ssd. fyi
I know SsD is fast but for the same amount of storage it will cost 3 to 4 times the price
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2009, 07:27 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

NCIX.com - Buy G.SKILL Falcon II 64GB Indilinx Eco 2.5IN SATA2 Solid State Disk Flash Drive SSD W/ 64MB Buffer - FM-25S2I-64GBF2 In Canada.
vs
NCIX.com - Buy Western Digital Velociraptor WD1500HLFS 150GB SATA 10000RPM 5.5MS 16MB Cache 3.5IN Hard Drive OEM - WD1500HLFS In Canada.
jmo but there no choice for me
EDIT looking at the prices even if you spend more for the 300gb vraptor hell that's a intel ssd
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2009, 07:32 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

well you shouldn't be using ssd for storage any way get 1 good ssd then the rest hd ( used many a raptor they don't hold a candle to a good ssd )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2009, 07:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Granby, Quebec
Posts: 6

My System Specs

Default

I bought 2 Vraptor 300GB from Newegg for 188.99 each, this is cheaper than a 150GB from Ncix for 209.00 and it will write faster than one SSD
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2009, 07:52 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
well you shouldn't be using ssd for storage any way get 1 good ssd then the rest hd ( used many a raptor they don't hold a candle to a good ssd )


Itís since yesterday , Iím thinking if I gone get those raptor at very good prices. I make some research, and yes 2 raptor in raid 0 , are close to the SSD in real situation.

My problem is the non sense to have 600 gb in raid 0 only for the OS . If I go with this solution I will make a 60 gb partition in the outside portion of the drives. The rest of the drive is useless , if you put something there, you lost the effect of keeping the OS in the fastest place on the drive ( the outside) .

I can use 4 of my 36 GB raptor to achieve the same , but itís give a load of 3.5 % on the CPU .

SO this morning Iím here, do
1- I buy $ 400 of raptor , that I know will perform the same, but with no hassle for 5 years,
Or
2- I use that money to buy 2 * 30 gb vertex and put them in raid 0 , and use the 640 black in raid 0 for the games.
Or
3- I use 4 small raptor and lost CPU efficiency
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
raid 51? bissa Storage 2 September 15, 2009 07:06 PM
Help with Raid 0 JerryZ Storage 1 August 10, 2009 08:15 AM
Help with RAID 1 Jackquelegs Storage 2 May 30, 2009 12:44 PM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 09:58 AM
raid help Jhayman Troubleshooting 9 November 8, 2007 01:10 PM