Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 06:32 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
I have 3 x warp ssd that have the jmicron602b controller and i can tell you they work great if your using it as a boot drive apply the tweaks here and your good to go no stutter at all running one in my htpc at the moment. these work for vista too Windows 7 - Ultimate SSD Speed Tweaks

Are those the only tweaks needed. I was going over tweaks at the OCZ forum and left with a headache. I bought a Vertex and I am trying to figure out how I am gonna go about setting it up but, it seems I need some help. I am left wondering what the definite tweaks one must apply to these things are.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 06:59 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

there are a whole bunch more little ones that can be done. the only one that i would add is turning of readyboot
how to from here[ How to disable ReadyBoot in Vista - Future Producers ]

Windows Vista/7: Disabling ReadyBoot

Here's how to disable ReadyBoot (not ReadyBoost) in Windows Vista. Launch the "Reliability and Performance Monitor" program (via Vista's Administrative Tools or via any of the other routes to launch this program). Then on the lefthand side of your screen click "Data Collector Sets", and underneath that heading click "Startup Event Trace Sessions". Now on your righthand side you'll see a list that includes ReadyBoot, and you'll see the word 'enabled' beside the word 'Readyboot'. Double clicking the list item brings up the ReadyBoot Properties dialog. This dialog has a number of tabs. Pick the "Trace Session" tab. Finally, uncheck the "Enabled" checkbox on that tab.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 07:06 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

1 disable page file/ move to a spinner
2 turn off system restore
3 turn off all the services . windows indexing . superfetch . Readyboost
4 turn off readyboot
5 set firefox to memory only/ or use opera/chrome
6 disable defrag
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 08:17 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 588

My System Specs

Default

Hmmm, I wonder...

Can we set system restore to use another HDD for it's back-ups?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 04:25 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

yes you can if you need it ( just put it on a spinner then set a restore point. done )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 08:33 AM
PLg PLg is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 180
Default

humm, so a 40GB v-series would be a cheap but very nice upgrade for a laptop right? nice cost/performance ratio?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 08:38 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLg View Post
humm, so a 40GB v-series would be a cheap but very nice upgrade for a laptop right? nice cost/performance ratio?
thats kinda where the thinking is going .
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 08:45 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 84

My System Specs

Default

I've been looking at SSD's for a system drive. I want something fairly large though and have been looking at these. Most are just out of my price range and I have a hard time justifying it, however these are not so bad and I was looking at them and when I saw comparisons they seemed just slightly faster then the velociraptor, which I was considering before hearing about SSD's which made me wonder if it would even be worth it unless I went to one of the higher end ones.
Would I see a difference with one of these in my main rig or would the difference only be in benchmarks and such?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 09:32 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Those are great boot drives - I would turn off defrag, hibernation and drive indexing but outside of that a lot of the tweaks dont' have that great a return IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 10:37 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canzara View Post
I've been looking at SSD's for a system drive. I want something fairly large though and have been looking at these. Most are just out of my price range and I have a hard time justifying it, however these are not so bad and I was looking at them and when I saw comparisons they seemed just slightly faster then the velociraptor, which I was considering before hearing about SSD's which made me wonder if it would even be worth it unless I went to one of the higher end ones.
Would I see a difference with one of these in my main rig or would the difference only be in benchmarks and such?
With any of the 2nd generation SSDs (and I don't include Jmicron controlled V's in that category) you WILL see a huge difference.

The best bang for your buck SSDs right now include the OCZ Agility and GSkill Falcon 2. For their price they are hard to beat and irregardless of what some forum members will say they WILL eat a VRaptor 300GB in real world use. I know as I have used most SSDs out there and own the Vraptor 300GB. Vraptor losses and losses badly.

I have not (yet) tested the Kingston SSDnow V 40gb but where it is a cut down Intel X25M gen 2....it has great potential, and TWO Raided together would make one potent setup on the cheap. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Replacement lappy CMetaphor Buy/Sell & Trade 10 August 5, 2009 05:09 AM
WTB: Ultra High End Lappy JPxM0Dz Buy/Sell & Trade 3 August 23, 2008 08:56 PM
Get Physx on your lappy! Cheator Video Cards 3 August 16, 2008 07:53 PM
Need general recommendations for Lappy sswilson Mobile Computing 13 March 30, 2008 01:37 PM
Lappy Upgrades r0k0 Mobile Computing 10 March 12, 2008 09:05 PM