Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2009, 06:01 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Question eSATA user experience?

I bought a Thermaltake BlacX eSATA thing and it is not working the way I assumed it would. When I plug it in nothing happens. If I 'detect new hardware' in the device manager the system finds the drive and mounts it fine and ditto for removal. I had assumed I would get a notification just like when you plug in a USB drive of some kind. I also expected to have the 'remove hardware' icon to show up in the task tray but it doesn't. It is also s l o w. I assume this is because the Marvel controller on my mainboard is a POS.

Do you have eSATA on your mainboard or an expansion card? Do you get plug and unplug notices and the remove hardware icon? What make and model are you using?


Thank you in advance.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2009, 07:22 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

i get no notice at all with mine it just shows up under my computer like the rest do you have your sata ports set to ahci in the BIOS for plug and play to work
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2009, 05:53 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 747

My System Specs

Default

I have never had much luck with esata. Some controller work fine and others suck. It is very hit and miss. The ones that work show the drive automatically, no user intervention required.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2009, 07:17 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

if your having problems with on-board e-sata just use the south bridge and get your self and e-sata adapter that goes in a pci bracket out the back of your computer. make sure yor sata are on ahci and plug and play in the bios.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2009, 11:20 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Arrow .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varroa View Post
... The ones that work show the drive automatically, no user intervention required.
Does it just show up or do you get a notification popup and sound? Also, how do you unplug it? Just yank the cable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
if your having problems with on-board e-sata just use the south bridge and get your self and e-sata adapter that goes in a pci bracket out the back of your computer. make sure yor sata are on ahci and plug and play in the bios.
Can you suggest a card or manufacturer you have used successfully?

Thanks for the input folks.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2009, 03:13 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

External SATA / eSATA Adapter
and i am pretty sure e-sata has no pop-up just a your drive is ready and that's only sometimes. i just pull the plug then turn the power off ( i have found that vista does not like e-sata drives pluged in well there not power cause's stutter.
The adapter just plugs into your south bridge then just set sata controller to ahci for plug and play to work.
NCIX.com - Buy eSATA to SATA Adapter Female/Female ( 150MBPS /300 Mbps ) Shielded Connector - AD-eSATA-SATA In Canada.
NCIX.com - Buy Startech 2 Port eSATA Controller Adapter Card PCI-E - PEXESATA2 In Canada.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris

Last edited by gingerbee; November 9, 2009 at 03:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2009, 05:08 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

I use a LaCie external enclosure on my Intel board since 2 years in eSata mod. The LaCie have usb, eSata, fire wire etc, when I want to use it I just flip the switch at the back…. But I have a fade remembrance to have try to put some files on it from an Asus board, don’t really remember it but I was not able, something indicate me than I have to reboot or adjust something in the BIOS, as I was in the hurry I do not take care.. and simply unplug the eSata and use USB . for now the LaCie have no HD inside so I can’t test it now..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
blacx , esata

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eSata Wurmer Storage 19 July 7, 2009 03:53 PM
eSata Hotswap? enspirent Troubleshooting 3 March 24, 2009 07:06 PM
esata cardb elninio Storage 3 March 14, 2009 12:34 PM
2.5" eSata Enclosure - Any thoughts? jgerber Storage 2 February 26, 2009 07:46 PM
Looking for feedback on using esata yamawho Storage 9 December 27, 2008 05:36 PM