Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 25, 2009, 02:06 PM
MVP

Default Which SSD/combination for OS drive?

Alright, so I've finally decided to get rid of my raptors and jump onto the SSD train. Now I have a few questions.

There's currently 3 different configurations I'm considering for a SSD setup. Single top of the line drive such as the G2 Intel 80gb. 2 Smaller OCZ 60gb drives in raid 0, or 3 30gb OCZ drives in raid 0. Will I notice a performance increase going to a raid setup? Or will I not even be able to notice the difference? I have zero experience with SSDs and no real gauge on their performance.

I know alot of you are running the Intel SSD's, anyone out there with a raid setup?

Also, this TRIM function I keep hearing about in Win 7. Is this something that just works in the background? or is it a program I have to run every once and a while?

Thanks!
Old October 25, 2009, 02:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

2 G.Skill Falcon's or maybe 2 Corsair P64's. Let me look at their prices though, they might be expensive. I'm not exactly an expert on SSD's though...

EDIT: NVM, those drives cost too much.
Old October 25, 2009, 03:28 PM
Hardware Canucks Reviewer

Honestly, unless you need to the extra space for your "C" drive. Raid'ing modern SSDs like the Intel and Indilinx controller based ones are....shall we say "overkill". IMHO start out with one and see if that is fast enough. ;)

Does it really matter if it takes 0.5 of a second to load a program vs. 0.75?

Basically Native OS TRIM works in the background and what it does is tell the drive to not only mark data as deleted but actually erase that section of the drive and make it back into its virgin state. Thus no slow downs. You dont have to do anything. OCZ Vertex & Agility (both very good drives for the price) can do this now w/ fw 1.41. BUT you need a TRIM aware OS, like Windows 7 (for example).