Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2009, 06:25 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Question western digital green and black.........

my server drives are getting a little small. right now they are seagate 500gb(4) and 2 1tb Blacks WD.

my question is ; can i throw a couple of western digital greens into this mix?

seems that i can price match the wd 1.5tb "greens" for $107. very tempting.
unless it shouldnt be done?

thx for any info

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2009, 07:09 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

They are a fair bit slower I believe since they only run at 5400RPM typically. But if speed isn't of much concern, should be alright. I wouldn't suggest putting them in RAID with your Blacks though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2009, 09:23 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

From what I hear the greens are terrible as they seem to spin up and down and lockup whenever they do so.
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2009, 09:27 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default

thx for the replies. i have been scouring the web and am finding that the spin down factor can cause errors when used as part of the storage pool in windows home server.

oh well, guess that one i bought stays in the cupboard for now.

thx again

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 05:24 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

I have been using a Caviar Green 1TB as my main HDD for the past 5 months (almost) and I have not had a single trouble with it. Its silent, meaning that in those 5 months I have no heard the HDD once. I have not experienced a single error. It may be slower than other HDDs, but it was such a huge leap from what I had before that I actually see it as fairly fast. I believe my version is the 2 platter version.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 05:53 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob123 View Post
thx for the replies. i have been scouring the web and am finding that the spin down factor can cause errors when used as part of the storage pool in windows home server.

oh well, guess that one i bought stays in the cupboard for now.

thx again

rob123
Can you link to where you found this? I am curious cause I get random errors on my WHS box and I have a bunch of WD green drives in mine.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 12:35 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default

i went back over it and this was the best of them all. be sure to notice the link in the first posting.

WD Caviar Green vs WD Caviar Black


cheers

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 01:28 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

Doesn't look like I am having any of the same problems so I don't think my errors are caused by the Green drives. I am going to be using a 2 TB green as my backup via esata so that shouldn't be a problem either. Moral of the story, stay away from USB drives.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 04:09 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default

mind if i ask what type of errors you are getting?

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2009, 04:34 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

None of them affect the server, it seems to run fine but these are the most common:

-Failed auto update retrieval of third-party root list sequence number from: <http://www.download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/v3/static/trustedr/en/authrootseq.txt> with error: This operation returned because the timeout period expired.

-The entry <C:\DOCUMENTS AND SETTINGS\ALL USERS\START MENU\PROGRAMS\WINDOWS POWERSHELL 1.0\WINDOWS POWERSHELL.LNK> in the hash map cannot be updated.

Context: Windows Application, SystemIndex Catalog

Details:
Unspecified error
(0x80004005)

-11/08/2009 10:29:09 PM
The entry <D:\SHARES\SOFTWARE\HOME SERVER CONNECTOR SOFTWARE\WHSCONNECTOR.MSI> in the hash map cannot be updated.

Context: Windows Application, SystemIndex Catalog

Details:
Unspecified error
(0x80004005)

-The entry <D:\SHARES\SOFTWARE\HOME SERVER CONNECTOR SOFTWARE\WHSCONNECTOR.MSI> in the hash map cannot be updated.

Context: Windows Application, SystemIndex Catalog

Details:
Unspecified error
(0x80004005)

-The entry <D:\SHARES\SOFTWARE\HOME SERVER CONNECTOR SOFTWARE\WHSCONNECTOR_X64.MSI> in the hash map cannot be updated.

Context: Windows Application, SystemIndex Catalog

Details:
Unspecified error
(0x80004005)

-The entry <D:\SHARES\SOFTWARE\HOME SERVER CONNECTOR SOFTWARE\WHSCONNECTORINSTALL.EXE> in the hash map cannot be updated.

Context: Windows Application, SystemIndex Catalog

Details:
Unspecified error
(0x80004005)
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
who got fraps and green power western digital? hohohee Gaming 4 September 1, 2009 02:25 PM