Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2007, 01:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Westminster BC
Posts: 107
Default hard drive set up

Ok, I bought a 150gig raptor which I plan to have as my primary drive then I was thinking of getting 2 7200 raid edition 250 gig drive and creating a raid 0 for running my programs off of.

Is this a good idea? ie; Having the 10000 rpm drive as my primary then having a raid 0 for programs/games.

Would running games off of a raid 0 constructed of 2 - 7200 rpm drives read faster then running a game directly from the raptor?

Just curious.
__________________
EVGA 680i SLI 122-CK-NF68-A1,
Intel C2D E6850, EVGA 8800GTX,
OCZ Reaper PC2 8500, Ultra X3 1000W fully modular PSU,
1 Primary Raptor X 150 gig + 2 150 gig Raptors in RAID 0,
Swiftech H20-220 Ultra with a Stealth GPU water block,
Dell Ultrasharp 2407WFP-HC 24" monitor,
Lian Li V2000 Plus Case slightly modded,
Steelseries Akari Laser Gaming Mouse, Razor Tarantula keyboard,
AuzenTech Prelude Sound Card,
Pioneer VSX-1016TXV receiver with Bose 301's,
AKG K240 Phones, Blue Snowflake USB Microphone.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2007, 01:56 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corpus Masochist View Post
Ok, I bought a 150gig raptor which I plan to have as my primary drive then I was thinking of getting 2 7200 raid edition 250 gig drive and creating a raid 0 for running my programs off of.

Is this a good idea? ie; Having the 10000 rpm drive as my primary then having a raid 0 for programs/games.

Would running games off of a raid 0 constructed of 2 - 7200 rpm drives read faster then running a game directly from the raptor?

Just curious.
RAID 0 =

RAID =

RAID isn't worth setting up for a desktop system due to the increase in hard drive speed is VERY limited.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2007, 11:58 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Westminster BC
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
RAID 0 =

RAID =

RAID isn't worth setting up for a desktop system due to the increase in hard drive speed is VERY limited.


You have really put things into perspective for me. Thanks
__________________
EVGA 680i SLI 122-CK-NF68-A1,
Intel C2D E6850, EVGA 8800GTX,
OCZ Reaper PC2 8500, Ultra X3 1000W fully modular PSU,
1 Primary Raptor X 150 gig + 2 150 gig Raptors in RAID 0,
Swiftech H20-220 Ultra with a Stealth GPU water block,
Dell Ultrasharp 2407WFP-HC 24" monitor,
Lian Li V2000 Plus Case slightly modded,
Steelseries Akari Laser Gaming Mouse, Razor Tarantula keyboard,
AuzenTech Prelude Sound Card,
Pioneer VSX-1016TXV receiver with Bose 301's,
AKG K240 Phones, Blue Snowflake USB Microphone.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista problem or bad hard drive? Varroa Troubleshooting 11 February 23, 2008 05:29 AM
WTB IDE Hard drive 40GB(or higher) belgolas Buy/Sell & Trade 6 February 8, 2008 09:45 PM
What is the coolest 1TB hard drive? AERo Storage 4 January 25, 2008 06:41 PM
Hard Drive slow to wake up in Vista WiNgY17 Storage 2 January 12, 2008 11:23 AM
ftp to Hard drive opj38 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 July 10, 2007 10:39 AM