Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2009, 12:41 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default raid 51?

I tried searching this, but it cut the 51 from the search.
has anyone ever seen a raid 51 setup before? if so what was store on it and why did thye need that much redundancy?
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2009, 12:50 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,034

My System Specs

Default

Seems like a silly idea. Would make much more sense to have 2 separate RAID5 arrays on two different machines.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2009, 07:06 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

i have not seen one but it would be expensive to setup. Technically i think you are asking about a raid 5+0 setup... not a RAID 51.

a raid 51 would be two raid5's +1 (mirrored). Like lowfat says that makes little sense. That is two times your level of "hard drive failure" redundancy when you only need one. Typically you should have one layer of hard drive redundancy, coupled with a offline backup system (NAS, TAPE or over the internet style automated backup system).

Raid 5+0 (or raid 50) would be two RAID 5 array's striped for added performance. This would also be called a nested array. It would require a minimum of 6 hard drives to accomplish and because it's RAID 5 you would want a 8 port dedicated RAID 5 controller to pull it off properly. This would equate into an investment of over 1000 dollars into your storage system alone.

Do you have a specific application that would warrant the use of a RAID 50? I am just speculating, but i would imagine a single raid 10 would out-perform a RAID 50 setup.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Raid 0 JerryZ Storage 1 August 10, 2009 08:15 AM
Help with RAID 1 Jackquelegs Storage 2 May 30, 2009 12:44 PM
Is Raid worth it? element291 Storage 33 March 2, 2009 12:33 PM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 09:58 AM
raid help Jhayman Troubleshooting 9 November 8, 2007 01:10 PM