Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2009, 08:30 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,555

My System Specs

Default

Hey low, I was thinking about doing something similar. If I just picked up an Atom 220, would that be enough horsepower for a NAS? You can find complete packages for <200 ION based. Couple different varieties out there even, with PSU's etc, too...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2009, 08:42 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,072

My System Specs

Default

I am sure it will. I used a Semp0n LE-1200 with no issues.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 09:22 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

so i managed to find a perc5/i on another forum. Awesome deal to. I will update as i get the parts. :D. If i had a video camera i could do a video of the build.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 01:25 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 472
Default

How much are those HD's going to pull on a cold boot? I had a 650W Corsair PS that could not handle 16HD's on a cold boot. System had to start twice in order to boot. Even then the MB acted strange. One PCI slot decided to stop working.
Replaced PS with 850W, PCI slot worked again and boot's on first try now. 650W is now in another computer working perfectly fine.

I have read that some Sata HDD's can suck as much as 33W on a cold boot.
__________________
They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 01:31 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Well there is this feature called staggered spinup which should alieviate high current draws at startup. BTW i am assuming the per5/i supports staggered spinup lowfat.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 01:57 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,072

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
Well there is this feature called staggered spinup which should alieviate high current draws at startup. BTW i am assuming the per5/i supports staggered spinup lowfat.
Yup. Damn near all RAID cards these days do.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 02:07 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 472
Default

Ahhh good reason to get that. Unfortunately the MB I am using doesn't have that feature.
Gotta pick up one of those cards someday.

I thought just after posting...but if he is using staggered starting...PS will be a none issue.
__________________
They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 03:43 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

So i pulled the trigger on the parts minus the HDD (next pay).

I am getting the following.

ASUS M2N68-AM SE2
Perc5/i
AMD Athlon x2 x7550
2GB G.skill DDR 2
Compucase
RA455A00
Kingwin KF-4000-BK
Corsair VX550W PSU

I was able to price match it so it came out under $600 :D
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 06:14 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,909
Default

NCIX.com - Buy Thecus N7700 7 Bay NAS Tower Server SATA RAID 0/1/5/6/10/JBOD Dual GBLAN W/ Load Balance & Failover - N7700 In Canada. i'd get this but....
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2009, 06:46 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i was actually also considering the n8800 but i wasn't comfortable with the pre built nas's (i had a bad experience with one in the past)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NAS Build lcdguy New Builds 17 January 30, 2009 02:49 PM
Router + Firewall + NAS? Cheator Networking 7 January 9, 2009 02:43 PM
NAS Recommendations? SugarJ Networking 19 December 15, 2008 12:30 PM
Looking for SoHo NAS recommendations Nodscene Storage 3 July 11, 2008 04:22 AM
BigA$$Nas lcdguy Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 30 April 30, 2008 12:17 PM