Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 07:35 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 69
Default RAID 0 in SSD or HDD?

Hello,

I've been doing some research and i wanted to know if it is worth going for the SSD drives in RAID0? or should i go for the HDD in RAID0?

For SSD, i will be using the OCZ Vertex 60GB in RAID 0. $200 a piece

or

For HDD, i will be using the 300GB WD Velociraptor in RAID 0. $230 a piece

I will be using this for my OS and applications and games. And a 1TB HDD for my Data.

Which would be a wise choice? The SSD or HDD in RAID 0.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 07:46 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,322
Default

Vertex will destroy the Vraptor. Less noise (none), more speed, less latency. Vraptors only claim to fame (vs WD blacks) were their lowered latency. A Vertex is about 0.09ms latency. A Vraptor is WAY WAY WAY worse at about 6ms. Really no comparison.

If you have the money. SSD is the way of the future.
As an added bonus with 1.4.x fw Vertex`s have TRIM capability for win 7 goodness. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 07:55 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

+1 to akg forget hd's there dead as an os drive. jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 08:03 AM
mikeinbc's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fraser Valley, B.C.
Posts: 20
Default

I would go SSD all the way. If you want the best price/performance, wait for the Intel G2 80GB SSDS. Should be available in a few days.The 60GB vertex costs $3.33/GB. The 80GB Intel will cost $249CAN or $3.11/GB. More storage, better performance, & less tweaking required for cheaper price per gigabyte. It's a no brainer.
__________________
Intel Q9650 @ 3.96 GHz | Asus P5E | Xigmatek DT-S1283 | Gigabyte HD6950 | Corsair XMS2 DHX 4GB DDR2-800 |Antec 900 | Intel G2 SSD 2x 80Gb Raid0 |2x Western Digital AAKS 640GB | M-Audio Studiophile AV40 | Logitech Illuminated keyboard | Dell Ultrasharp 3007WFP-HC | HT Omega Claro Plus | Corsair AX750 gold power supply
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 09:38 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
As an added bonus with 1.4.x fw Vertex`s have TRIM capability for win 7 goodness. ;)
Trim does not work inside a raid array. But the firmware Garbage collection does and works great.

Intel may release an update to the ich10r controller to allow this, but no word yet.

Also, +1000 for SSD. I have 3 60gb verts in raid0, here are the results:


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 02:05 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

Go SSD there is no comparison. 1 vertex SSD is better then 2 V-Raptors. So 2 SSDs will destroy any HDD in raid.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 02:39 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,924

My System Specs

Default

There is zero reason to buy a Vraptor these days.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 05:28 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

I hear that. dead drive jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 07:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 69
Default

Thanks alot guys.

I decided to go with 2 SSD in RAID 0 for OS, apps, and games.

And 3 Western Digital 640GB in RAID 5 using 1 drive as a parity drive. =)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 07:51 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

You will be amazed.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving OS from HDD to SSD artistpavel Storage 29 November 20, 2010 01:32 PM
Excellent ICH10 RAID setep guide for SSD's Squeetard Guides & How-to's 5 August 16, 2009 01:02 PM
HDD or SSD OS and application drive FreeKnight Storage 12 July 11, 2009 09:12 PM
Raid or ssd for 150$ (average) Mavvens Storage 21 April 2, 2009 08:10 PM
9 drive ssd raid 0 array tzetsin Storage 3 May 3, 2008 11:03 AM