Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 03:50 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cypher^64 View Post
I ended up picking up the Corsair x128 as they were out of the OCZ. Nice thing from what I read though, updating the firmware on the Corsair drive you don't lose you data where as on the OCZ apparently you do...
Ummm...actually OCZ were the first to intro jumper-less firmware updates which did not by default wipe away all your data. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 03:56 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

thanks charlie..

stupid sony! why did I buy a laptop from them?!
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 04:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,410

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
SSD's are the cat's ass for laptops. They are all bolt in, made in the exact form factor as 2.5" laptop drives. They will survive a 10 storey drop and not break, losing your data. They add a ton of time to your battery life. And best of all, they are faster than fast.
They really add a lot of time? I hadn't thought of that. My current laptop is...weird. I replaced the battery with a new one, lasts about hours dimmed and using MS word/one note. Think i'd see much of an improvement in the duration with an SSD?
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 04:05 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,254
Default

Depends on the size of the SSD. The 128s are slightly better and added about 35 minutes to my battery life (little over 4hrs instead of 3.5 hrs). The smaller 64GBs use even less and can add a great amount of battery life! The only exception is Intel....they use a shite ton of power and even the 80Gbs are rated for a FULL 1.0amp off the 5v line (vs .35 for 64GBs from Sammy and Indilinx or .55 - .6a for 128gb Indilinx`s).
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 04:22 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,786

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Depends on the size of the SSD. The 128s are slightly better and added about 35 minutes to my battery life (little over 4hrs instead of 3.5 hrs). The smaller 64GBs use even less and can add a great amount of battery life! The only exception is Intel....they use a shite ton of power and even the 80Gbs are rated for a FULL 1.0amp off the 5v line (vs .35 for 64GBs from Sammy and Indilinx or .55 - .6a for 128gb Indilinx`s).
I was going to say, when I had an X25-M in my Macbook Pro it added zero battery life.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 08:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Red Deer, AB
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Ummm...actually OCZ were the first to intro jumper-less firmware updates which did not by default wipe away all your data. ;)
I guess I read the wrong manual then, cause the one I read the other day specifically states that it will wipe all data.... I guess it could be an outdated pdf...

Anyways, so far so good. This laptop feels pretty good, worth the price premium, not sure yet... haven't done all the updates on Vista 64 yet. But time will tell.
__________________
Daily Laptop: Toshiba A300D w/Corsair X128 SSD
HTPC: Phenon II 940B, ASUS M4A78-e, 2x2gig XP2 Mushkin 8500, 1 x 1TB Seagate, 3 x 2TB WD Green, Corsair TX 750W PSU and 5 Scythe Kama-flex fans in a Silverstone LC20.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 09:01 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,786

My System Specs

Default

It use to erase all the data. After the 3rd firmware they released you no longer had to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2009, 09:11 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Red Deer, AB
Posts: 72
Default

Not that it was really a choice anyways as there were none in stock. But good to know.
__________________
Daily Laptop: Toshiba A300D w/Corsair X128 SSD
HTPC: Phenon II 940B, ASUS M4A78-e, 2x2gig XP2 Mushkin 8500, 1 x 1TB Seagate, 3 x 2TB WD Green, Corsair TX 750W PSU and 5 Scythe Kama-flex fans in a Silverstone LC20.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2009, 02:38 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Red Deer, AB
Posts: 72
Default

AFter doing a clean OS install and updates the one thing that I REALLY like on my laptop is the fan rarely kicks in when I'm just browsing the net and when it does it's just on low....wow...so so quite. lol Doing installs of drivers and such from the HD...er, guess that's SSD is noticably quicker and the whole machine just feels nicer to use, but the best thing is the fan...
__________________
Daily Laptop: Toshiba A300D w/Corsair X128 SSD
HTPC: Phenon II 940B, ASUS M4A78-e, 2x2gig XP2 Mushkin 8500, 1 x 1TB Seagate, 3 x 2TB WD Green, Corsair TX 750W PSU and 5 Scythe Kama-flex fans in a Silverstone LC20.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD JMCD Storage 28 July 17, 2009 02:32 PM
[WTB] SSD or two CMetaphor Buy/Sell & Trade 4 July 11, 2009 10:09 AM
MAC DDR laptop mem in an Intel based laptop? sswilson RAM 6 June 2, 2009 12:30 PM
Yet another question about SSD Dave510 Storage 9 April 18, 2009 08:29 AM
Laptop / Laptop build T.t74)Rocky New Builds 0 November 8, 2008 07:29 AM