Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 04:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Default HardDrive plugged into JMicron or not?

I just completed my first build and noticed the JMicron slots so i plugged my sata 3.5" seagate in to see if it makes a difference and it does for me. I feel that its making my hard drive slow. Do i need a driver? Should i just plug back into the regular sata slots? What the benefits of this jmicron? This is my first post so i will take this time to say HELLO to everybody and thanks for help me (n00b) out. Coolsite by the way. The reviews are impecable. The depth that goes into it is astonishing!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 05:04 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

Typically the jmicron sata ports are slower then the ones built into the north bridge. What kind of motherboard are you using?
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 05:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Default

I am using the Asus P6T. What is a north Bridge? I see i have 6 sata slots total, 4 of which are horizontaly place and 2 which normal(90degrees) to the board. Are certain slots better than others?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 05:21 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

I think he meant the southbridge . Probably an ICH10R since it's an x58 board. The Southbridge controls things like USB/Sata/1394/etc
Here's a zoomed view of your motherboard P6T):
http://usa.asus.com/prog_content/mid...spx?model=2731
The southbridge is under the smaller blue heatsink towards the bottom left in this picture. Your northbridge is actually under the larger heatsink with the "Asus" logo on it.

Using the sata ports that are built in to the southbridge will normally give you less latency, but it varies from controller to controller depending on what kind of interconnect there is between the southbridge and the sata controller (jmicron in this case). For example, a sata controller that connects to the southbridge via the PCI bus will be slow and not very useful at all, whereas one that connects via a pci-express 8x lane will be much much faster.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 05:24 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

Yeah what he said. Too early, not enough caffeine.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 05:28 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterd View Post
Yeah what he said. Too early, not enough caffeine.
You're forgiven sir.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 05:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Cool, so ill plug back into the serial ATA instead. So on that zoomed picture of my board, are those 2 veritcaly placed sata slots better then the other 4? I just want to make sure i am getting the fastest speed possible.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 05:48 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

According to the Asus specifications all 6 of those (the 4x at 90 degress and the two vertical ones) are all running off the southbridge and therefore should have no difference in performance. To be honest, I'm not even sure where the jmicron controller is, unless it is Only used for the eSata on the back IO of the board. Sorry, not familiar with x58s, hehe.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 07:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Default

What is the controller? The JMicron slots?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 08:13 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

It could also be for the IDE interface on those boards.. I think.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Harddrive in Bios tom555 Troubleshooting 1 August 5, 2009 12:21 PM
[WTB] 30-60gb SSD, must have non-Jmicron controller Jackquelegs Buy/Sell & Trade 2 June 15, 2009 06:41 PM
harddrive failing. help please kyle_L Troubleshooting 2 May 10, 2009 06:44 PM
[WTB] laptop harddrive Rapid-X Buy/Sell & Trade 0 May 2, 2009 08:22 AM
need laptop harddrive Rapid-X Buy/Sell & Trade 3 February 14, 2008 11:46 AM