Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 12:12 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 122
Default

I just did this install on a 780i MB, with two Seagate 500gb drives. I was worried about the Raid files, but to my surprise, it did it all for me, I was installing Vista 64 Bit Ultimate. Id give it a go first, see if it finds the drivers. I LOVE the speed different on drive access :D I think i went with 64k slices, i was told there is a small speed difference going more, but its only noticable with HDD benchmarks, nothing you will notice with normal usage. I was scared when i had no idea what i was getting into, but it was really easy.
__________________
AJ's Gamer, Finally finished!
Win 7 64 bit / Antec 1200 / E8400 EK Supreme LT / Xfx 780i SLI / Mushkin 6Gb EM2-6400 - Corsair 3 Fan Cooler / Corsair HX 1000W / 2xSeagate Sata II - Raid 0 / 1xSeagate Sata II - Storage and backup / 2xEVGA GTX285 1Gb- SLI Ek blocks / 2x240 Swiftech Rad, Full Push-Pull / MCP355 w/ Petra Top / Micro Res / Danger Den Fillport Blue / Matrox Digital TH2G / 3xSamsung 226BW's
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 12:16 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

@Cmet - I filled up 1tb in 3 months :P
@miggs - I got the mobo as a return rma and it didnt come with a cd or anything, so Il try to get it from evga's site. In the meantime, do you think you can give a tad more detailed instructions on the cd because I absolutely do not have an idea about how to do that. Also the whole reason why I am doing raid 0 is because of the performance and I would really worry about my data for i keep most of my moves, music, etc, on my external hdd (500gb)

Thanks in advance guys.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 12:26 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post
@Cmet - I filled up 1tb in 3 months :P
Then you seriously need to start backing up to DVDs/BD-Rs, lol. Once day that big 'ol 1Tb disk is going to crash, and you'll loose everything. Imagine having to redownload all that stuff , hehe.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 01:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 122
Default

Im adding another 500gb drive for storage when i can afford it. ill place my personal folders on there and also all downloads will go there, so hopefully if i loose one of the raid drives i can get it running failry quickly.
__________________
AJ's Gamer, Finally finished!
Win 7 64 bit / Antec 1200 / E8400 EK Supreme LT / Xfx 780i SLI / Mushkin 6Gb EM2-6400 - Corsair 3 Fan Cooler / Corsair HX 1000W / 2xSeagate Sata II - Raid 0 / 1xSeagate Sata II - Storage and backup / 2xEVGA GTX285 1Gb- SLI Ek blocks / 2x240 Swiftech Rad, Full Push-Pull / MCP355 w/ Petra Top / Micro Res / Danger Den Fillport Blue / Matrox Digital TH2G / 3xSamsung 226BW's
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 01:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

^^ Stop scaring him now.. lol

@ Sharan.. I see.. no worries, 780i I see per your sig right. As for the detailed instructions, honestly there is nothing detailed, just pop in the CD, and pop a floppy drive (a:) :p (format off course).. in the CD, you should have an option to make a bootable SATA RAID disk/SATA RAID drivers/make a bootable raid floppy.. something in those lines, you'll recognize it when you see it, easy to spot.. click, and it asks you to insert a floppy and click start, done deal..

So next time you boot from dos with windows CD in, and run the setup (for XP at least).. I think it is F6, you'll see a message on the bottom to load drivers or something.. (for the life of me, I can't remember it sorry).. just keep tapping F6 like a crazy person lol.. until the message disappears, and when it asks you to load drivers, insert floppy, load necessary drivers, and continue setup..

It depends what version of windows you're running, I think with Windows 7 (not sure Vista) it is a whole different thing, I never had to load any sort of drivers for my SATA drive for Windows 7, picked it up and installed.

Off course, before you do anything, to actually create the RAID Array as they call, you would have to go in the BIOS, and enable the SATA ports, once you do that, after POST hopefully, you should see some screen to press something (key on keyb) to load the RAID Utility, or simply say instructions ....

Sorry for typing in a bad way, I am at work, and in a hurry... lol :p
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 01:44 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

heh thanks for feedback. btw I dont have a floppy drive and when Im sposed to put in the raid driver cd, there will be another cd in which will be my windows 7 cd so if I take out the windows 7 cd during the setup to put the raid cd in, wouldnt that cause some problems...? But yeah some otehr guy who did raid 0 on win 7 said there arent any drivers things liek vista and xp but I just want to know in case.

@CMet - yeah I have 500gb of it on a ex hdd and the other 200gb il put on some cd's, but the other 200gb arent that important to me.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 01:48 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

With Windows7 you can remove the install disk when prompted to load drivers off a cd/usb key for your sata/raid array. But that's only if it doesnt already find the drivers. With Windows7, the floppy drive has truly met it's end.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 02:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
With Windows7 you can remove the install disk when prompted to load drivers off a cd/usb key for your sata/raid array. But that's only if it doesnt already find the drivers. With Windows7, the floppy drive has truly met it's end.
Truly agree.. I could also with you :p

As I mentioned Shayan.. 95% of the time you will not have to install RAID drivers on Windows 7 install.. Good idea for me to setup my RAID too, I have 2 x 640gb drives just running for past few months, and one 250gb which now almost locks a lot, it's coming to an end.. I'll have to find a grave for my beloved friend *cry*
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 02:52 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

lol, yeah i decided to pop in a windows vista disk to see how it looks like so I got a feel for how to load drivers and apparently i can load from a usb stick or an external hdd.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 05:48 PM
JimboToronto's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 173

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
With Windows7, the floppy drive has truly met it's end.
Not one minute too soon in my opinion. Good riddance to mechanical contraptions.

I completely missed the zip drive, because it was easier to burn a CD or preferably simply make additional HDD copies. By the time DVDs became available they were already obsolete. The only practical use for DVD drives for many years has been ripping VOBs from commercial DVDs. Blueray is just silly, a shakedown of the rubes.

Perhaps some people's time is worth less than minimum wage and spending their time to burn polycarbonate disks is worthwhile, but for most of us CDs/DVDs/blueray is a suckers' game. With the price of more secure HDD and NAND storage falling every day, polycarbonate storage is just too expensive.

I keep a few IBM punchcards and 8" floppies around to remind myself how far we've progressed in just a few years and remind me of the times when computers used vacuum tubes and rotating drum memory (e.g. the IBM650).

Some day FDDs, HDDs, CDs and DVDs will seem as quaint as magnetic core memory and neon-light monitors.

We've pretty much completed the transition from mechanical devices to solid-state electronic devices. Coming up next: optical devices where photons rather than electrons are manipulated.

The steam engine made horse power obsolete. The internal combustion engine and electric motor made the steam engine obsolete. Progress marches on.

This year I bought a FDD for WinXP F6 driver installation beacause my previous F6 FDD had failed. I pray it's my last.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OC Noob needs formula RexFeral Guides & How-to's 7 May 8, 2009 08:28 AM
[WTB] I am a noob and i need some help :D eltiti55555 Buy/Sell & Trade 16 March 9, 2009 02:02 PM
Folding Noob :/ kruzn4evr HardwareCanucks F@H Team 31 October 16, 2008 11:15 AM
noob Please explain????? WolfBane Off Topic 10 July 20, 2008 07:35 PM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 10:58 AM