Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 12:23 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default Hard Drive Formatting Question

Hi all,
I recently installed Partition Wizard because in about 3 days I will be installing Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit and be getting rid of my w7 Ult RC. There is an option in the program that says "format" and I would liek to format my C drive which is the drive im booting off of right now. If I select Format to C drive, does that mean eventually during the format my computer will jsut liek shut off or something? Is it possible to complete the format if that happens? Im kinda puzzled here. The reason why I dont want to just like pop the new windows 7 disk in and install it and replace my current version is because it leaves a "windows old" folder than I cant seem to delete and I just have way to many windows old folders now. Please help.
s288
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 12:43 PM
JimboToronto's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 173

My System Specs

Default

Do you have an old WinXP CD kicking around?

If so, boot from it and delete the partition.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 01:34 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

aww man... I have to do that? There isnt any other way?
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 02:56 PM
JimboToronto's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 173

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post
aww man... I have to do that? There isnt any other way?
???

I thought you wanted to start the C: drive off fresh for Win7 without any vistiges of previous installs. You can't do that out of Windows.

What could be easier than using the XP CD to delete the partition and then rebooting from the Win7 disk?

Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 03:04 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

^ I think so
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 03:09 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 960
Default

You have the option when installing Windows 7 to format the hard drive. It would be easiest and best to do it then.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 03:23 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimboToronto View Post
???

I thought you wanted to start the C: drive off fresh for Win7 without any vistiges of previous installs. You can't do that out of Windows.

What could be easier than using the XP CD to delete the partition and then rebooting from the Win7 disk?

Am I missing something?
Sorry, no its just that I dont have a CD of such and I do not know how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodscene View Post
You have the option when installing Windows 7 to format the hard drive. It would be easiest and best to do it then.
If I do that, there will be no windows old folders right? and itll be jsut like when I bought it?
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 03:45 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

The hard drive will, for your purposes, be as clean as when you bought it after a format which you can do during the install of Windows 7.

It'll likely ask you where you want to install it. You may have to delete the partition on the drive and then recreate the partition again. You would then format that partition and install the new OS on top of that.

Everything on your drive will be gone and you'll end up with a brand new fresh install.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 04:23 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Cool, thanks so much guys!
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 05:39 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

I see you're in Vancouver area. If you get stuck and are frustrated I could swing by and help you out if you like. Met a few people off here already, it's been interesting
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failing and new hard drive question matsta31 Storage 10 January 19, 2009 05:54 PM
sata hard drive formatting issue in XP sirhc Troubleshooting 28 October 9, 2008 12:37 PM
DirectCanada: Hard Drive Order Question MAC Off Topic 3 May 16, 2008 08:16 PM
format hard drive question Jamz O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 March 26, 2008 11:29 AM
Question on upgrading computer, saving the hard drive ShinseiKen Troubleshooting 7 August 2, 2007 01:25 PM