Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 02:30 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,583

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
That is the key tho.. backing up stuff.

But say you have a 1gb RAID 0 .. that becomes more challenging to backup which is why RAID 0 isn't good for that and RAID 1 or 10 is because then if a drive dies unexpectedly you'll be ok.

And then the naysayers would shout "but...but...but...what if TWO die at the same time!"

Raid is fine. HDD's die no matter what. People who dont back up are just asking for trouble.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 02:32 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
And then the naysayers would shout "but...but...but...what if TWO die at the same time!"

Raid is fine. HDD's die no matter what. People who dont back up are just asking for trouble.
Yes but RAID 0 is much worse than RAID 1 and people who think that setting up a RAID 0 array for storage or backup purposes and say its safe is off their rockers.
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 02:37 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

not having backups that's dangerous hd die no matter what you do having raid0 is for the performance why would you put data on there that's not backed up (silly don't ya think)
and lets take a vote. Everyone who run's raid of any kinda how many of them have lost data because of the raid screwing up and not because it was not backed up ( i.e raids that do backups them self's)
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 02:44 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
rip blurays. Not burn them. You just copy them to your HDD.
Right...shouild have read it more carefully.....Sony has us all by the short n curlies on this one!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 03:41 PM
JimboToronto's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 173

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Yes but RAID 0 is much worse than RAID 1 and people who think that setting up a RAID 0 array for storage or backup purposes and say its safe is off their rockers.
>>>RAID 0 is much worse than RAID 1<<<

Not for performance.

>>>setting up a RAID 0 array for storage or backup purposes<<<

That would just be foolish. The whole reason for using RAID-0 is improved performance. I use it only for system drives and keep all data and backups on external HDDs. If you absolutely must create a very large array, use RAID-5.

The best data security is multiple backups, including offsite.
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 01:14 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I just ordered 3-60gb Vertexes. Raid0 baby!
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 04:53 PM
JimboToronto's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 173

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
I just ordered 3-60gb Vertexes. Raid0 baby!
Congratulations on a wise investment and welcome to the world of speed.

If you're like most of us you'll never want to go back to slow system storage again. HDDS are OK for bulk data and backups but as system drives they just don't cut it.

Please post some benches. I'm curious how they compare with the marginally faster 120GB Vertex in RAID-0.
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old August 13, 2009, 07:35 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

You don't have to tell me, I started this thread.

Dude on the ocz forums gets 630mbs sequential reads with the same setup.
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2009, 07:11 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

very nice 630mb almost maxed. i am think of getting 1 more a-data for hopefully around the same numbers. cool
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2009, 09:39 AM
JimboToronto's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 173

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
You don't have to tell me, I started this thread.

Dude on the ocz forums gets 630mbs sequential reads with the same setup.
>>>You don't have to tell me, I started this thread.<<<

Sorry if I get a little evangelical about SSDs. I realize in this case I'm preaching to the choir.

>>>Dude on the ocz forums gets 630mbs sequential reads with the same setup<<<

That's pretty much bottlenecked by the ICH. You won't get better sequential reads with 4 or more SSDs. The reason I use 4 Vertex in my array is for better small-file performance.

Storage interfaces and controllers are the new bottleneck. I waited until the Barefoot SSDs to came out last winter before upgrading my desktop system because I figured it would be the last controller not to be bottlenecked by SATA2 on sequential transfers.

Until newer interfaces are developed, PCI-e is the only way to get the bandwidth necessary for faster sequential transfers.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External hard drives... but a different way CMetaphor Off Topic 9 July 15, 2009 01:29 PM
Best External hard drives? Realityshift Storage 4 April 19, 2009 01:09 AM
[WTB] 4x 1TB hard drives werth Buy/Sell & Trade 6 February 25, 2009 07:37 AM
[WTB] hard drives mo' power Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 28, 2009 10:31 AM
[WTB] Hard Drives miggs78 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 November 29, 2008 07:52 PM