Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 04:55 AM
FrankyG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shediac,NB
Posts: 158
Default Hardware RAID 5 card

I am looking for a hardware RAID 5 card with atleast 4 sata ports. What you you guys sugest I have a budget of around 300 to 350. It can be PCI or PCI-E.

Thanks !
__________________
AMD FX9590
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
16 GB DDR3
2x MSI GTX780 Lightning
1200W Antec PSU
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 08:57 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,924

My System Specs

Default

Buy a Dell PERC 5/i from ebay. Definitely the best value out there.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 10:15 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Default

I'm going to pipe up here and say something you don't often hear: DON'T DO RAID 5.

Do RAID 0+1 instead.

Reasons:

1) Disk is cheap. It costs trivially more to get a fourth disk. Sure, you've lost more of your disk space than with 5, but the remaining benefits (I think) outweigh this and the costs substantially.
2) You're looking to get a 4-port device anyway.
3) When a disk fails in 5, the hardware still has to calculate the missing data from the RAID hash data stored on the remaining two. This will cause a substantial performance decrease, even in a hardware card.
4) When a disk fails in 5 and is replaced, the hardware will have to rebuild ALL of the missing data. Again, this will cause a massive performance decrease during this time.
5) When a disk fails in 0+1 and is replaced, there is no calculations to be done, just a simple copy. You'll probably see a mild performance decrease, but nothing on the order of what you'll see with 5.
6) This one is anecdotal, but still holds valid I think: I had a RAID 5 array fail on me once, and it never recovered properly. This was probably due to the way it was set up and the hardware it was on rather than anything else, but it still turned me off of 5 pretty much forever.

Those are my reasons. Personally, I'll never use RAID 5 and always go with 1 or 0+1.

-r-
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 10:19 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 468
Default

Had a raid 5 fail on me a couple a times one yr. Recovered fine once.....failed to recover on the other. :help:
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 11:48 AM
FrankyG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shediac,NB
Posts: 158
Default

Ok then in that case a 0+1 card is way cheaper so RAID5 or RAID 0+1
__________________
AMD FX9590
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
16 GB DDR3
2x MSI GTX780 Lightning
1200W Antec PSU
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 11:59 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 988

My System Specs

Default

Perc5i w/BBU off ebay...
PERC 5/i RAID Card: Tips and Benchmarks - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 03:14 PM
FrankyG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shediac,NB
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoob View Post
Would any SAS cable from NCIX or whatever fit on those cards.
__________________
AMD FX9590
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
16 GB DDR3
2x MSI GTX780 Lightning
1200W Antec PSU
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 04:50 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,924

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankyG View Post
Would any SAS cable from NCIX or whatever fit on those cards.

19.69" | 50cm Supermicro SAS to SATA Cable with Sideband For HDD, SFF-8484, Black, SAS Data Transfer Cable (CBL-0175L-01) in Canada - Fast Shipping 1.866.800.8060

these are the ones you want.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 05:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 148
Default

LSI MegaRAID = most compatible / reliable
Most DELL PERC cards use LSI chips anyways :)
I confirmed the LSI MegaRAID can access/convert the Intel ICH10R generated RAID5 arrays (raid internal to Core I7 X58) systems.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 06:57 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 988

My System Specs

Default

Really???? ARGH. That would have saved me a lot of time...
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
do I need raid card? bumfloss Storage 11 June 27, 2009 05:14 PM
do i need a raid card for a server. kyle_L Storage 15 April 1, 2009 12:21 PM
Which Hardware RAID5 Card? CanadaRox Storage 12 August 3, 2008 12:26 PM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 09:58 AM
looking for a raid card that does 0+1 cujo Storage 0 March 10, 2008 11:14 AM