Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2009, 11:33 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default Storage question

Hi all,
i have a question about hard drives.
I currently have my OS (vista home premium 32bit)
and a lot games and stuff on one 500gb Western digital hard drive.
I plan on buying a ssd one day and i am wondering if there is a way I could liek transfer my OS to the ssd and still be able to play my games, or if I have to just isntall a whole new OS on the ssd, and when I do so, will I still be able to play my games?
Please help..
Thanks.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2009, 12:42 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

If your WD 500GB hd doesn't have much on it and your SSD is big enough you could probably just clone your HD right onto the SSD.

But what I THINK you're saying is that you'd like to have your games on the HD and keep your OS on the SSD... and then you're wondering if the games would work.

I'm pretty sure it depends on the game. Games like World of Warcraft install to it's own drawer and don't have things in the registry, etc so I'm positive it would work fine. I'm not sure about other games.

Most likely they still write things to the registry, which is a HORRIBLE practice and I hope it's stopped. Games should install everything to their own drawer. If the uninstaller screws up then it's no big deal.... just delete the damn drawer!

However, if you uninstalled all the games off your current HD you could likely keep your OS exactly how it is by just cloning it over to the SSD as long as there was enough room.

I'm saying this in theory as these are both SATA devices so should work but I've never done it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2009, 06:58 AM
PLg PLg is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 180
Default

Why exactly do you want to copy the whole Hd. Is it because you don't have the cd for vista? Because it is a different technologie, I would extremely suggest that you use a fresh install. Second, you mentioned that you had a lot of stuff, I don't know what is your budget, but if you have like 350gb of stuff no way you can fit that on a ssd.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2009, 11:38 AM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

My hdd has used up like 450gb of the disk, and I dont want to clone, I would just like to put the vista on the ssd and leave the games on the 500gb UNTOUCHED with all my saved games fine. I do still have the vista disk.
The most important part is steam, I am also wondering if I can switch my steam games to the ssd and still have all my games on it untouched with all my saved games (not all of them are valve)
thanks.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2009, 05:00 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

lol.. bump?
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2009, 05:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Default

i would suggest putting windows 7 on the SSD.. windows 7 has some optimization in it for SSDs and vista does not.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2009, 07:15 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

I've gone kinda silent because you're asking a question I can't really answer. I have no experience with SSD's, and I think your results with the games are going to be 50/50'ish.

If you are good with the registry I'm sure you could get it done though.... you'd have to copy your registry over, etc. It would be fairly involved, I think.

I'm no expert in Windows registry. Given enough time I get shit done though.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2009, 07:42 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Yeah I think I am just gonna reformat. Thanks for the help though.
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2009, 07:52 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Make sure the SSD you're buying is a big one if you intend to put your games on there...! 32Gb is way to small... A full OS can take anything from 15-25Gb. 64Gb... which I have myself, I find too small... a bit of DL and your drive is full! It is doable though....

A 120/128Gb SSD or bigger would be the best! Lots of space for many applications/games...etc

Here are some examples:
G.SKILL Falcon 128GB $ 349
OCZ Vertex 128Gb $ 369
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2009, 07:55 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

Yeah I am planning on getting the 120gb OCZ vertex and putting my OS and steam account on it, and keeping everything else on the normal HDDs.
But I have one last question. Can somebody please tell me how to reformat a disk? Do I need somekind of software, or what?
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Packaging\Storage FrankyG Off Topic 1 April 21, 2009 05:03 AM
Windows Home Server Storage question........ rob123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 January 18, 2009 06:16 PM
odd storage problem......... rob123 Storage 10 September 14, 2008 01:42 PM
best/simplest storage for my music? Unklmo Storage 12 June 23, 2008 11:24 AM
External Storage Supergrover Storage 13 August 12, 2007 04:46 PM