Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 08:31 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,882

My System Specs

Default

Installing XP after Vista is a PITA! Quite time consuming for me at least. Ran in to a lot of issues, which could of been fixed if I was willing to format both drives clean, but I didn't want that.

Definitely install XP before Vista. Then everything goes nice and smooth. Vista will detect XP and know what to do with it. You don't have to run the Vista install from within XP, and I wouldn't do that myself. I always boot from the CD/DVD when installing OSes.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 08:57 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 56
Default

Lot easier installing Linux (Ubuntu or Suse), it creates a boot selection launcher called GRUB. You have to configure it through Linux though.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 945
Asus M4A87TD EVO
Sapphire HD4860 1GB (a handicaped 4890)
Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR3 @1600 MHz
WD Caviar Green 500GB
Windows 7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 04:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Ok but will I get any selection when starting window a bit like Mac and Xp on same HD.
So if I get it right I can use two HD:
One with the two OS and the other one for both XP and Vista files of course both of the HD partionned?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 05:23 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,882

My System Specs

Default

I think it would be easier if you kept XP on one drive and Vista on the other. Seems more practical that way.

Otherwise keep all your files on one drive and partition the other in half to have XP and Vista.

No need to be partitioning both drives.

Install XP first and then Vista. Vista's bootloader will take over and give you a selection screen saying Windows Vista and Windows Legacy or something like that. Legacy being XP.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 06:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Ok I see but is there a way to install Xp (and all the music...) on one Hd and Vista on the other and still get a Boot Choice when starting my comp?
Btw thanks for fast answers
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 09:31 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,882

My System Specs

Default

Yeah...

As long as XP is installed first and Vista second. Just make sure you pick the right drive during the installation.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2007, 06:33 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Hum I'm sorry I didn't understand what you just said.
You mean I can have two HD for XP and Vista and put them on separate HD and still get the boot choice at startup?
Need any setting like Master,slave? ...
Sorry for my ignorance
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2007, 12:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default

This is how I did triple boot:

I first installed the oldest OS; In my case is XP PRO32 on only 20 GB of disk space (Primary Partition). This drive is reserved only for OS. It is easier to defrag and faster.
Keep the remaining space Unalocated for future OS.
Then I put all my applications, Paging Files etc...on other disk drive.

Later, I installed XP PRO 64 on 20 GB on the OS drive (Logical Drive). I used the other drives reserved for apps and Paging as well...

Then I installed VISTA 64 on the remaining OS drive (Primary Partition). I still use the other drives for apps and Paging Files.

You have to remember to tell Windows to install on a small portion of the drive each time. When you install application, you have to change the path of the installation to keep the C drive for OS only.

Windows will automaticaly detect dual or triple boot.

I never had problems.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz

Last edited by francois methot; August 20, 2007 at 05:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2007, 05:45 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Look for a dualboot xp-xp and xp-vista how-to next week sometime, it should be posted up by then.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual boot question SpateD O/S's, Drivers & General Software 17 March 8, 2008 05:11 PM
How to de-couple dual boot Malam O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 February 3, 2008 09:53 AM
Dual boot vista 64 on second HD Babrbarossa O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 December 4, 2007 01:42 PM
cant boot into XP magictorch Troubleshooting 2 November 17, 2007 02:42 PM
No way to boot sciwhiz Troubleshooting 13 October 27, 2007 05:41 PM