Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 05:36 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default Moving OS from HDD to SSD

I purchased OCZ Vertex SSD, which btw is kinda on sale:
Newegg.ca - OCZ Vertex Series OCZSSD2-1VTX120G 2.5" 120GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid state disk (SSD) - Solid State Disks


I'm willing to migrate my Windows 7 setup to a new SSD, and looking for confirmation on steps I take:

1. Connect SSD and update firmware:
http://www.ocztechnology.com/drivers...hing_Guide.pdf

2. Align SSD partition:
Guide VERTEX..single disk installation and windows tweaks. All disk sizes. - OCZ Forum

3. Use Acronis TrueImage 2009 to clone OS from HDD to SSD:
Guide CLONE & RESTORE IMAGE - MY FOOL PROOF VIDEO GUIDE - OCZ Forum

4. Change disk boot priority to new SSD.


Now, do I have to align disk before or does the Acronis do it automatically when cloning? Anything else I should know?

Last edited by artistpavel; June 4, 2009 at 01:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 06:43 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,947

My System Specs

Default

Vista/7 alignment is done automatically with install. I don't know if Acronis keeps the alignment though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 08:02 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

So I should do the alignment with Diskpart, then format SSD with Windows' Drive Manager, and clone the image with Acronis, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 08:04 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,947

My System Specs

Default

As long as Acronis doesn't screw up the alignment afterwards. A lot of disk cloners / backup tools will reformat the drive.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 08:09 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

How would I know if alignment is screwed up, OS won't install or the signs are more subtle?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 09:01 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,947

My System Specs

Default

That I have no idea.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 11:14 PM
fefox's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manitoba N50 15.5944', W101 2.2833'
Posts: 324

My System Specs

Default

ok I had to laugh... I followed your link to the SSD after seeing the word, "SALE" thinking Oooouuu,I wonder how much they are...

I see the price, wince and whisper OUCH... then I read....

(((The OCZ Vertex offers your system the incredible performance and reliability of flash-based technology at a price that won’t make you WINCE.)))

lol
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 11:27 PM
fefox's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manitoba N50 15.5944', W101 2.2833'
Posts: 324

My System Specs

Default

I have never had much to do with a SSD other than the one in my Asus Eeepc, but as far as disk cloning ive always used PING with fantastic results makes a perfect duplicate of your old drive onto a new one..

ping.windowsdream.com
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 11:37 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,947

My System Specs

Default

Why not just use Windows Backup & restore? I created an image from my OCZ Vertex to my X25-M array and it worked without a hitch.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 12:02 AM
fefox's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manitoba N50 15.5944', W101 2.2833'
Posts: 324

My System Specs

Default

Im not really a Windows fan, and dont really trust it.. I use it for games otherwise im in linux or solaris.

I guess what I found nice with PING is that it will duplicate Everything including your windows and unix partitions and anything else on the drive.
So no hassels with a mutli OS boot disk.
Only Negative thing I can recall is that if you boot with both drives now being identical that XP 'not sure about the other versions' gets upset because of the two identical windows drive ID's.
but thats easy to solve.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC with Zero moving parts 486 Air Cooling 23 April 29, 2009 07:18 AM
Moving to a new place, Should I take out my CPU cooler for moving? appplejack Air Cooling 5 March 10, 2009 02:44 PM
Moving to i7... S_G New Builds 5 January 6, 2009 05:19 PM
Moving a PC tom.mullie Troubleshooting 22 August 30, 2008 10:26 PM
Water not moving Infiniti Water Cooling 17 January 2, 2008 10:35 AM