Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 02:56 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,925

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artistpavel View Post
Vertex has holes on the sides and on the bottom, two sets of holes for different type of mounting
werd. All 2.5" drives do.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 04:05 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Here are before and after benchmarks:

Old OS drive:


New Vertex:





Last edited by artistpavel; June 4, 2009 at 04:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 05:28 PM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synth View Post
If you guys are looking for a good SSD bracket, that can hold 2 SSD drives, here it is.

I'm using it now, and it's pretty sweet.. and you can get it for 9$ @ DirectCanada.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synth View Post
Dude, I'm actually using it. And trust me, it works fine. I'll post a picture when I get home.
See below, great little bracket, especially for SSD RAID arrays or dual drive setups.
Attached Images
 
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 12:09 AM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Those are great brackets Synth, makes me wanna buy it, even though I ordered OCZ one for future expansion.
I got inspired by my new Vertex, I got one more for laptop from NCIX (30GB)
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 12:58 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Oh snap, I received my 30GB Vertex and it turned out my laptop has PATA connection, I never thought it was that ancient. I don't feel like sending it back so I'll find good use for it for my main rig. Now those double brackets Synth mentioned will come handy thanks for posting.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 01:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 2
Default

If you haven't already succeeded, make an partition image using Acronis, then restore it to the ssd. Should work. I just did the same thing, platter to ssd, Aronis, works fine.
Anyone know of the tweaks referred to in the Patriot Warp v2 review? That's my jump into the ssd world, no problems with stutter, just want to avoid them.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 07:43 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Artistpavel....welcome to the SSD Club......once you get 1 you'll become a speed addict....my Asus G51J Notebook came with 2 Seagate Momentus 320 Drives, they have both been replaced with SSD's ;)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2010, 06:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Default Best strategy?

I'll be ordering a 128 GB SSD very soon and I have a question about moving my OS. (Either OCX Vertex 2 or G Skill Phoenix Pro )

I read once ( don't recall where ) that it's better to do a clean install of the OS.

I don't have a ton of stuff, but like anyone I'd rather not reinstall everything if it's not needed.

Also, I don't have any external USB drive if it's needed in the process.

Ideally, I would install the SSD, boot in my HDD, copy the image in the SSD, reformat my HDD.

Thanks for the answers guys!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2010, 09:03 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

thats odd the link goes to NCIX...not direct canada

:)
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2010, 01:32 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artistpavel View Post
Why wouldn't they work? Brackets turn it to a standard 3.5" drive, that's all.
The drive connectors on a 3.5" drive are offset, and unfortunately all of the brackets I've seen so far, center the 2.5" drives.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC with Zero moving parts 486 Air Cooling 23 April 29, 2009 07:18 AM
Moving to a new place, Should I take out my CPU cooler for moving? appplejack Air Cooling 5 March 10, 2009 02:44 PM
Moving to i7... S_G New Builds 5 January 6, 2009 05:19 PM
Moving a PC tom.mullie Troubleshooting 22 August 30, 2008 10:26 PM
Water not moving Infiniti Water Cooling 17 January 2, 2008 10:35 AM