Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 12:14 AM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

fefox, it actually dropped from $399 to $394 since I ordered it, there are your savings:)

Acronis sort of grew on me, and I found a video guide that tells to restore 'NTFS partition' first and then 'MRB and track 0' in the second restore run instead of doing it in one session to preserve alignment:

YouTube - CLONE & RESTORE A HARD DISK - ACRONIS

There's also a theory that alignment is not necessary at all for real life use, it will work just fine misaligned:
Support Question Alignment on Vertex 1275 - Does it really make a difference? - OCZ Forum

Last edited by artistpavel; June 3, 2009 at 12:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 12:11 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Vertex firmware 1.30 is up, they say it won't erase your data:

Discussion Official Vertex FW v1.30 release info and files. - OCZ Forum

and the cheapest place to buy 3.5" adapter brackets is here ($11, $19 with shipping and taxes):

Xpress Canada - Cases > Accessories : OCZ Solid State Drive 3.5" Adaptor Bracket.


Last edited by artistpavel; June 3, 2009 at 01:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 02:43 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,957

My System Specs

Default

I don't suppose those brackets hold the SSD in the correct position so that it will fit in a hot swap bay? Xpress Canada is a complete joke. They are even worse than Canada Computers (actually a part of Canada Computers afaik).

Maybe I'll decide to update my HTPC's Vertex to 1.30.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 03:57 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Why wouldn't they work? Brackets turn it to a standard 3.5" drive, that's all.

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 07:37 PM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default Good bracket..

If you guys are looking for a good SSD bracket, that can hold 2 SSD drives, here it is.

I'm using it now, and it's pretty sweet.. and you can get it for 9$ @ DirectCanada.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2009, 07:58 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,957

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artistpavel View Post
Why wouldn't they work? Brackets turn it to a standard 3.5" drive, that's all.


The picture shows the drive is mounted in the middle of the bracket. In order for it to fit a hot swap bay, the power/sata connectors need to be to the far right hand side.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 05:35 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synth View Post
If you guys are looking for a good SSD bracket, that can hold 2 SSD drives, here it is.

I'm using it now, and it's pretty sweet.. and you can get it for 9$ @ DirectCanada.
I'm confused...how do you mount the drives to it?

I have a vertex as well, and the mounting hole are on the bottom of the drive, not the side. I dont think that drive bay will work
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 05:53 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quikgp View Post
I'm confused...how do you mount the drives to it?

I have a vertex as well, and the mounting hole are on the bottom of the drive, not the side. I dont think that drive bay will work
Dude, I'm actually using it. And trust me, it works fine. I'll post a picture when I get home.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 12:21 PM
Dave510's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quikgp View Post
I'm confused...how do you mount the drives to it?

I have a vertex as well, and the mounting hole are on the bottom of the drive, not the side. I dont think that drive bay will work
The drive in the instruction above is upside down...
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 02:41 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quikgp View Post
I'm confused...how do you mount the drives to it?

I have a vertex as well, and the mounting hole are on the bottom of the drive, not the side. I dont think that drive bay will work
Vertex has holes on the sides and on the bottom, two sets of holes for different type of mounting

Last edited by artistpavel; June 4, 2009 at 02:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC with Zero moving parts 486 Air Cooling 23 April 29, 2009 07:18 AM
Moving to a new place, Should I take out my CPU cooler for moving? appplejack Air Cooling 5 March 10, 2009 02:44 PM
Moving to i7... S_G New Builds 5 January 6, 2009 05:19 PM
Moving a PC tom.mullie Troubleshooting 22 August 30, 2008 10:26 PM
Water not moving Infiniti Water Cooling 17 January 2, 2008 10:35 AM