Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 08:55 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

.... And get write caching working darn it! most of us already have done so thanks
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 08:58 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,929

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
So any suggestions on what to do?

How can I test this? Do I have to format?
Ghost the array. Then perform an HDDerase 3.30 on them. You can download it here. You'll need to set the drives to IDE mode for this.

PC Perspective - Long-term performance analysis of Intel Mainstream SSDs

Have you upgraded to the newest firmware? Do this also if you haven't. So download the firmware and burn the iso before you take the array down. You'll have to have the drives in non-RAID mode for this.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 09:23 AM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Ghost the array. Then perform an HDDerase 3.30 on them. You can download it here. You'll need to set the drives to IDE mode for this.

PC Perspective - Long-term performance analysis of Intel Mainstream SSDs

Have you upgraded to the newest firmware? Do this also if you haven't. So download the firmware and burn the iso before you take the array down. You'll have to have the drives in non-RAID mode for this.
Done the FW update. I'll have to try this.

Ugh...ghosting the array? Will I be able to recover it with everything intact? I should have tested this stuff before I installed everything

I have a copy of Ghost, but I am definitely a n00b at that sort of thing. Any advice on how to do that?
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 09:51 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,929

My System Specs

Default

lol. I've never successfully ghosted/cloned a drive so I may be the wrong person to ask. I just tried doing the Window Backup clone. And am about to copy it over, I'll see how it works.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 10:16 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

me too sorry
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 10:40 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

For clone copy I use : maxblast. It is available on Seagate website. you need a seagate product in your computer to use it tought.... I have imaged RAId 0 and single drives with great sucess using Maxblast.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 01:25 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,929

My System Specs

Default

This is an X25-M Array



And this is an X25-M RAID0 Array on drugs

drugs as in MFT
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 01:39 PM
zlojack's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,057

My System Specs

Default

What's MFT?
__________________
[SIZE=3]
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 01:43 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,929

My System Specs

Default

Managed Flash Technology

It is software for SSD's that converts all random writes in to sequential writes. So random writes are going to be significantly faster and the live of the NAND cells should be a lot longer due to not as many writes.

Although It can't be used on a boot partition. So I have a 20GB partition for windows 7. And the remaining for MFT.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 03:24 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

nice lowfat got he's ssd hooked on mft's ha ha thanks for the benchies
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd benchmarks Jonwall Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 February 8, 2009 08:43 PM
My Phenom II benchmarks Table21 CPU's and Motherboards 3 December 21, 2008 06:32 PM
Low Benchmarks? LegendofJubei Troubleshooting 3 August 28, 2008 11:15 AM
PCIe 2.0 vrs 1.0 Benchmarks? sswilson Video Cards 4 February 3, 2008 07:51 AM
Vista Tweaks Scratch O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 July 6, 2007 09:18 AM