Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2009, 11:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default WD6400AAKS Woes

For the past few months, ever week or so, my computer will just stop (usually while I'm playing a game). Upon restarting, I will be informed that no hard drive is detected and told to insert bootable media. To fix this, I have to open up my case, unplug the SATA cable from my Biostar Tforce I45 mobo to my WD6400AAKS and then plug it back (and wiggle it a bit). Starting the computer, it then works... for another week.

I'm extremely sick of doing this. What's wrong? Is it the hard drive? The motherboard? The BIOS? I've updated the BIOS and that didn't fix it. I don't know of any SATA driver updates or fixes for the I45.

Please, do offer advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2009, 11:37 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried changing to another SATA cable? How bout updating the BIOS and hard drive firmware?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2009, 11:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Changing the cable was the first thing I tried (since I had a number of spares that came with the motherboard). I don't know where to find the HDD firmware, though I -think- that I've updated the BIOS. That is to say, I updated the BIOS along with a number of other things (one of which screwed up a game, so I reverted, but reverting in Windows probably wouldn't change the BIOS).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2009, 03:38 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

What mode is your SATA set to? Maybe try AHCI or RAID.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2009, 04:10 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

I had such a problem a long time ago with an Asus P5K-E motherboard and a 74GB WD Raptor. Apparently it was a known incompatibility that happened just like 1 out of 1000 times. I had tried feeding that HD through a different PSU cable, tried using a different SATA cable, tried plugging it in to a different SATA port on my mobo but nothing worked. I just had to accept that occassionally, and very rarely, I would have to reboot the system twice to get it detected.

Your problem sounds like this. I don't know of any WD6000AAKS issues so you either have a similar mobo+HD rare compatibility, are using an IFFY SATA cable or that particular SATA port on your mobo is IFFY.

I really don't think suspect the HD being at fault here. It should basically either work fully or not at all. This intermetent behaviour is not a characterisitc of an HD...
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2009, 04:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default

I'm not sure how to change those SATA settings, jdrom.

What do you recommend, Rooster? Buying new SATA cables?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2009, 05:19 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,228

My System Specs

Default

Definately try the easy stuff first. Get a new sata cable and try plugging it in another sata port. Sata connections are not really very sturdy and must be treated gently.

Quote-Wkipedia

Quote:
SATA connectors are not as robust as PATA connectors. For example, the motherboard connector on SATA includes a plastic tab (see the picture above) which can be broken if the connector is bent. This might happen if the cable is pulled to one side. Because such a broken connector is on the motherboard rather than the cable, it is not easy to replace.

The external connector and cable (eSATA))have a design-life of over five thousand insertions and removals, while the internal connector (sata) is only specified to withstand fifty.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2009, 07:29 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackbox View Post
I'm not sure how to change those SATA settings, jdrom.
Should be an option in the BIOS somewhere.

Typically on the first page that comes up in the BIOS, under like SATA Configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2009, 05:56 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Maybe get a SATA controller card may fix you on what is the problem, I would be realy surprise if it was the disk. Maybe can try it these =card are pretty cheap over the internet.

Ask for more
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2009, 07:14 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 919
Default

You may already know this but if you change your sata settings to AHCIor what have you chances are you will need to reinstall you OS.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming woes Wolfx25 Troubleshooting 22 June 15, 2009 10:39 AM
GPU2 woes.. lemonlime HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 May 5, 2009 06:33 AM
WD Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS open-6 Storage 8 May 3, 2008 02:20 AM
My Overclocking Woes... Cptn Vortex Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 20 February 8, 2008 07:40 PM