Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 09:40 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 471
Default Looking for new HDD.

I was looking at a wd6401aals and was wondering if anyone has anything good or bad to say about it for long term use and reliability?
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ xfire HD6870s / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 10:47 AM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

Quiet and fast
__________________
Silverstone TJ-08E
Seasonic X-660
Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Intel i7-3770
Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Crucial M4 256GB + 128 GB
Sapphire Radeon HD7970
Nec Multisync LCD2690WUXI
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 05:14 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ What he said. It is much quieter than my Raptor in my CM690. And much faster as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 06:29 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 486 View Post
Quiet and fast

Ditto......
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 08:09 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 471
Default

Ok, I ordered it. Next question, how should I make use of it? A) make a 100GB partition at the beginning of the 640 drive for installing windows and use the seagate 250GB drive to load games on? B) Use the seagate 250GB drive to install windows on and use the wd640GB to install games on?
Thanks.
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ xfire HD6870s / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 08:31 AM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

make a 100 GB at the start of the 640, install the oS there ( it's the fastest drive ) partition the rest as you need, transfer your stuff from the 250, and make a small partition on the 250, at the start, 4 gb is enough, and put the swap there, the idea is when your os work he put a lot of small file on the swap, so he read and write after, if it's on the same drive it's more long. on the rest of the 250 , you can back up your important stuff time to time, or use a backup utility to do so, Win ( at least some version ) have one built in..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External HDD Inik Storage 4 March 1, 2009 03:33 PM
New HDD lucb10 Storage 2 January 5, 2009 03:22 PM
Lf: HDD any sized thatguy Buy/Sell & Trade 5 May 15, 2008 10:09 AM
HDD Config encorp Storage 9 April 27, 2008 11:52 AM
HDD Advice Rommel Storage 3 April 23, 2008 01:34 PM