Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 07:19 AM
The MAX's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 153
Default I have a question about RAID...

So currently have a 250Gb and a 500GB. Have a lot of media and am running out of space they way I have my partitions set up.
So I want to keep the 250 specifically for OS's and Software installs, and the 500GB as my data drive.
Only trouble is now I have no room for back up.
So what I would ideally like to do is set up a RAID 1 (I think) whatever the mirrored one is. Not interested in buying a RAID card or anything, just going to use the onboard on my P5Q-Pro.

Question is: I have a Seagate 7200.11 500GB drive. I can't find these anywhere for sale right now, all sold out. I know for RAID 0 its important to have drives of exact same make and model for best results, however would it be okay to RAID 1 a 7200.11 and a 7200.12? If so is there any cons to doing this?

Thanks for the help in advanced.
Help me protect my grad research and HD movies!!!
__________________
- Antec 900 (modded) - Asus P5Q-Pro - 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 -
- Palit GTX 260 SONIC 216SP - Core 2 Duo E8400 with Xigmatek HDT-S1283 cooler - 850watt Antec True Power Quattro -
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 08:17 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

It would be fine to RAID1 different drives, just note that the faster drive (7200.12) will probably run slower than it could due to the 7200.11 drive.

You could optionally not run RAID, and just setup some software to automatically copy all the contents of the 7200.12 over to the 7200.11 at night (or a convenient time).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 08:40 AM
The MAX's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 153
Default

I don't think that is a major concern for me anyway. For the sake of difference between 100MB/s or 90MB/s avg r/w times its not going to matter for storing movies and music and data.
Thanks for the input.
I might just go with the 7200.12 in raid 1 with the .11
Any other opinions?
__________________
- Antec 900 (modded) - Asus P5Q-Pro - 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 -
- Palit GTX 260 SONIC 216SP - Core 2 Duo E8400 with Xigmatek HDT-S1283 cooler - 850watt Antec True Power Quattro -
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 08:55 AM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,695
Default

Will be Ok as drives are the same size , I run mix of 7200.10 and 7200.11 on my RAID10.
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 08:55 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The MAX View Post
Thanks for the help in advanced.
Help me protect my grad research and HD movies!!!
This is not what RAID is for.

If your scared of losing stuff like that then get an external drive and back it up to that on a regular basis.

RAID is good but if its vital data I would not recommend it at all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 11:11 AM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

enaberif, that is an excellent point.

RAID 1 will ensure uptime in the face of HDD failure; but is not a backup by definition. I would totally go the external drive route, or a network drive route for proper backup. You can accidently format, delete, virus-wipe the info on your RAID1 volume because it is a workspace, the external drive will not be your workspace; better insulating it from disaster.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 11:20 AM
The MAX's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 153
Default

hmmm I'd rather do it internally.
Possibly just get software as someone else recommended and just keep stuff backed up using that once a day.
__________________
- Antec 900 (modded) - Asus P5Q-Pro - 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 -
- Palit GTX 260 SONIC 216SP - Core 2 Duo E8400 with Xigmatek HDT-S1283 cooler - 850watt Antec True Power Quattro -
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 11:34 AM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

It will not protect your files, computer gets stolen, fire, lightning. Cheap power supply without output protection can burn all you drive in one shot, in case of power surge. Raid 1 + off side back up, is the best. At least for the price of your back-up software you can have a external enclosure, no need for something expensive.


Quote:
Originally Posted by The MAX View Post
hmmm I'd rather do it internally.
Possibly just get software as someone else recommended and just keep stuff backed up using that once a day.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 03:51 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

Repeat after me:

RAID != Backup

They need to coexist.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2009, 10:19 PM
The MAX's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 153
Default

is != supposed to be a "not equal" sign?
or was it supposed to be Raid 1 and you are saying it is backup?

I think I have an idea of the setup I will get. Just spent $118 on gear for my road bike (seat bag, pump, etc...)and its my girlfriends birthday this weekend so I won't be buying a hard drive anytime soon. lol
__________________
- Antec 900 (modded) - Asus P5Q-Pro - 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 -
- Palit GTX 260 SONIC 216SP - Core 2 Duo E8400 with Xigmatek HDT-S1283 cooler - 850watt Antec True Power Quattro -
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
drives for raid, question Jim Storage 4 January 30, 2009 07:54 AM
RAID Question Wein13 Storage 7 October 12, 2008 06:15 AM
RAID question miggs78 Storage 17 August 30, 2008 03:12 AM
ESata dual raid enclosure = poor man's hardware raid? sswilson Storage 10 May 6, 2008 09:58 AM
raid controller question.... rob123 Storage 2 November 13, 2007 12:14 AM