Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 03:28 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 109
Default Question - Segate Barracuda II: Enable advanced Performance

I came across this option in device manager.
I want to know if my power supply is adequate enough to handle this.
I use Corsair HX 1000W. I'm including the picture below.
Thanks.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Desktop:

Core i7 920 on EVGA X58 @ 3.95GHZ
Noctua NH U12P 1366
OCZ DDR3 Triple Channel Gold Version 6GB (8-8-8-24)
EVGA GTX 260SC
Windows Vista Ultimate X64
750GB Hardisk
Antec P182 Case: Quiet but not very good for cooling

Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad SL500
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 06:00 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

By "Backup power supply" they mean using a UPS battery backup system, not a higher-capacity PSU.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 06:04 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,322
Default

What that option does is the OS caches writes so that it does a burst of them to the hdd every so often...not right away. If you lose power before the burst write occurs....you is SOL. To me its not worth the risk.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 06:23 AM
Magnetar's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 57
Default

I strongly urge you to get a UPS.
For just over $100 there is no reason not to have one, especially on a rig with your specs!
I recommend: OPTI-UPS GS1100B
Canadian Prices: Opti-UPS - OPTI-UPS GS1100B / 6-Outlet / 1100 VA / 550W / UPS (Black) - GS1100B

To answer your question, Yes.
I always use those setting for HDDs.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 06:58 AM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 618

My System Specs

Default

+1 to Magnetar, get a UPS then turn on write caching. If the power goes out you have time to do an orderly shutdown and the data is saved. If you use the UPS software the computer can be set to do a shutdown itself when you are not home. Also a good UPS will protect against spikes, brownouts, sags and whatnot with line conditioning. A worthy purchase, I would never run a computer without one.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2009, 04:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 109
Default

Thanks for the sound advice guys.
By the way, I use APC Surgearrest/7-Outlet/490 Joules/Surge Suppressor.

APC SurgeArrest Essential 7-Outlet 490 Joules Surge Suppressor with Phone Protection P7T in Canada at TigerDirect.ca
This looks inferior to Opti-UPS - OPTI-UPS GS1100B / 6-Outlet / 1100 VA / 550W / UPS (Black) - GS1100B, but I thought it was good enough. Could you tell me more reasons why I should get a power protector over $100?
I need to get some cash if I am going to buy it.
Thanks
__________________
Desktop:

Core i7 920 on EVGA X58 @ 3.95GHZ
Noctua NH U12P 1366
OCZ DDR3 Triple Channel Gold Version 6GB (8-8-8-24)
EVGA GTX 260SC
Windows Vista Ultimate X64
750GB Hardisk
Antec P182 Case: Quiet but not very good for cooling

Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad SL500
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2009, 06:37 AM
Magnetar's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by appplejack View Post
Could you tell me more reasons why I should get a power protector over $100?
I need to get some cash if I am going to buy it.
Thanks
Dwayne has explained that pretty well as it is. Not much else to add.

Currently your surge protect does just that, protects against power surges, nothing more.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2009, 03:58 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by appplejack View Post
Thanks for the sound advice guys.
By the way, I use APC Surgearrest/7-Outlet/490 Joules/Surge Suppressor.

APC SurgeArrest Essential 7-Outlet 490 Joules Surge Suppressor with Phone Protection P7T in Canada at TigerDirect.ca
This looks inferior to Opti-UPS - OPTI-UPS GS1100B / 6-Outlet / 1100 VA / 550W / UPS (Black) - GS1100B, but I thought it was good enough. Could you tell me more reasons why I should get a power protector over $100?
I need to get some cash if I am going to buy it.
Thanks
You are not getting a "power protector". The APC you mention is a "surge suppressor" in that it attempts to stop a large amount of voltage from getting to your computer.

The second device that was mentioned, the Opti-UPS device, is a device that will keep your computer running after all the power to your entire city is gone. It's a battery pack that lets your computer run with NO POWER FROM THE WALL OUTLET. These devices are often called "UPS - Uninterruptable Power Supplies".

If you turn on write caching, then have a power failure you are going to hate life. If you have your surge protector from APC it will do NOTHING to make you hate life less. If you have a UPS like the Opti-UPS then it will keep your computer running after the power goes out..... long enough for the computer to write the cached information to your drive and shut down properly.

APC also sells UPS's

I hope this helps....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question regarding Antec P182 Advanced Super Mid Tower Case appplejack Cases 13 December 4, 2008 08:13 PM
(Vista) Disable/Enable network adaptor automatically zlojack O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 November 20, 2008 10:12 AM
Threaded Optimization - Enable/Disable/Auto? encorp Video Cards 2 July 26, 2008 06:39 PM
How to enable Crossfire in Crysis Demo! Killswitch Gaming 3 November 16, 2007 06:58 PM
Advanced Thermo-Electric Cooling( Peltier) Shadowmeph Reviews & Articles from the Web 4 October 18, 2007 12:07 PM