Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 05:47 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 401
Default not seeing hdd in my computers.

today i got my 1TB WD Black from ncix, plugged in , detects in bios, but nothing in "my computer"...cant see it?
__________________
CPU:Intel i5 6600k - Corsair H110
GPU:EVGA GTX980Ti FTW Edition
HDD:250GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, 3TB WD Black
MOBO:Asus Z-170 Deluxe
RAM:G.Skill Ripjaws V F4 2800mhz 16GB
PSU:Silverstone 950W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 05:51 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 896

My System Specs

Default

If you are using Vista you have to open up the Admin tools. Click start - control panel - system and maintenance - Admin tools

then select computer management

Find Storage and Disk Management and you disk should show up there... that is where you partition it and format it.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus Prime Z370-A : i7 8700k : Corsair Vengeance 32 GB DDR4-3000 : Corsair RM650x PSU : Corsair H100i V2: Fractal Design Meshify C : EVGA GTX 1080 : Arctic Accelero Xtreme III Cooler
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : : Corsair H100 : EVGA GTX 1050 SC : Corsair 650D: Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Tablet - Asus Surface clone
Wife's Rig - MSI GL72M 7RDX
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 05:53 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

I'm pretty sure that new hard drives come unformatted. You'll need to go into Disk Management and it should show a bit that says Unpartitioned space or something like that. Right click on it and select format.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 05:56 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 401
Default

do i want MBR or GPT?
__________________
CPU:Intel i5 6600k - Corsair H110
GPU:EVGA GTX980Ti FTW Edition
HDD:250GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, 3TB WD Black
MOBO:Asus Z-170 Deluxe
RAM:G.Skill Ripjaws V F4 2800mhz 16GB
PSU:Silverstone 950W
CASE:Silvertstone TJ07
Keyboard:Logitech G15 V2
Mouse:Razer DeathAdder
Case Cooling:2x92mm exhaust,2x120mm exhaust, 2x120mm Ultra Kaze(3000RPM)intake.
Running:Win7 64-bit Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 06:00 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
do i want MBR or GPT?
MBR.

GPT is only needed if you ever planned to boot.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 06:00 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 896

My System Specs

Default

Try GUID Partition Table - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia for info

I am not positive but GPT looks like the choice but I would read a bit more to make sure.

Another link

Using GPT Drives
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus Prime Z370-A : i7 8700k : Corsair Vengeance 32 GB DDR4-3000 : Corsair RM650x PSU : Corsair H100i V2: Fractal Design Meshify C : EVGA GTX 1080 : Arctic Accelero Xtreme III Cooler
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : : Corsair H100 : EVGA GTX 1050 SC : Corsair 650D: Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Tablet - Asus Surface clone
Wife's Rig - MSI GL72M 7RDX
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 06:03 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,898

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiniti View Post
I'm pretty sure that new hard drives come unformatted. You'll need to go into Disk Management and it should show a bit that says Unpartitioned space or something like that. Right click on it and select format.
second that
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 06:12 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwayne View Post
Try GUID Partition Table - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia for info

I am not positive but GPT looks like the choice but I would read a bit more to make sure.

Another link

Using GPT Drives
The problem with GPT tables is only a select few OSs can actually properly use them so migrating a hdd with a GPT table to a older OS maybe a lot more difficult.

MBR is still preferred unless you plan to boot with a 2tb drive which makes 0 sense to me.

2tb drives are for storage not booting.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 06:14 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 896

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
The problem with GPT tables is only a select few OSs can actually properly use them so migrating a hdd with a GPT table to a older OS maybe a lot more difficult.

MBR is still preferred unless you plan to boot with a 2tb drive which makes 0 sense to me.

2tb drives are for storage not booting.
I agree, but if he is running Vista (especially the 64 bit version) with no plan to go back, and the 1 TB is storage, then it sounds like GPT is more efficient. Like I did say, some research is in order to make the decision... never hasty, always think it out I guess.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus Prime Z370-A : i7 8700k : Corsair Vengeance 32 GB DDR4-3000 : Corsair RM650x PSU : Corsair H100i V2: Fractal Design Meshify C : EVGA GTX 1080 : Arctic Accelero Xtreme III Cooler
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : : Corsair H100 : EVGA GTX 1050 SC : Corsair 650D: Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Tablet - Asus Surface clone
Wife's Rig - MSI GL72M 7RDX
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 06:16 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwayne View Post
I agree, but if he is running Vista (especially the 64 bit version) with no plan to go back, and the 1 TB is storage, then it sounds like GPT is more efficient. Like I did say, some research is in order to make the decision... never hasty, always think it out I guess.
And I'm saying that GPT is only needed if you plan to boot 2tb or larger volume drives. I have researched this and its the only main difference between MBR and GPT tables.

And who in their right mind uses a 2tb drive for a OS drive? That is super silly.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 PSU's 3 Computers but what one for each. mailaw Power Supplies 4 March 28, 2009 12:19 PM
2 computers, one monitor....... rob123 Display Units 12 December 31, 2008 05:58 PM
Computers Can't See Each Other Even if in Same Workgroup geokilla Networking 0 October 4, 2008 12:52 PM
Hardcore computers Wankerfx Off Topic 6 March 31, 2008 07:29 AM
lu computers... Rausch Off Topic 3 January 28, 2008 04:30 PM