Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 05:19 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default Good / Bad purchase story..

Hi all!

Please listen to this, I'll need some input..

First, I went to FS two days ago...looking for an external HDD...not really serious about it, I was just checking (I`m not really knowledgeable about those ext HDDs).

So, BANG!!! I get my eyes on 1TB externals!!! There is an issue with the price...$179.00 is CROSSED OFF! It`s writen $99.00...So I`m like humm there is something wrong.
Checking on the optical price scanner, sure enough, it scans at 179.00$. So, according to QC consumer protection rules ,I`m entitled to a 10$ rebate on the item, plus the lowest advertised price...so $89.00. They were livid...happened that an employee misplaced some 1TB HDD boxes in the 500GB location (the 500GIGs were the one on sale at $99.00)!!!

So yes, after a little fight/arguing, they let me go with the drive at that price (QC regulations are clear and advertised in the store (by law) so they couldn`t do anything...their mistake.

Now the BAD..I google the drive...Seagate FreeAgent Desk 1TB USB....based on the plagued Seagate 7200.11 drives with firmware issues...that kinda "party-pooped" my enjoyment, to say the least.

now, on Seagate`s website, with the provided tools to identify failure-prone drives (firmware revison and model number), I gather that my drive is NOT affected.

But some people are complaining about other issues with those drives (flaky coating on the platters, bad bearings on the hdd motor...)

anyway, should I try to pull a stunt to get rid of this while it`s still in the packaging?
Of course, if I go back to a FS branch ,I`ll get only 89$ back, that doesn`t get me a better 1TB drive at all...And those nice WD 640Gb books are sellling for $119 over at Costco...so should I go commando and try to Exchange for something else?
Or Am I clear, because Seagate tells me I`m fine???

Also, being USB, is that drive is really slow? I mean 7200 RPM, 32mo cache, seems ok ,no?

Help!!!
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 05:32 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

for the cost keep it unless you use this for backups. which a lot of people do
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 05:38 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Well,

I don`t have any "critical" data to store, just mp3, game data (maps and stuff) and pictures/videos...I still wish it does what it`s meant to do...SAVE AND STORE data...not die on me after a few weeks!

I`ll give it a shot, I don`t have much to lose, and I like the 1TB capacity!!!!
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 07:15 AM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC!
Posts: 618

My System Specs

Default

Since you are using it for non-critical storage I would say keep it and if it craps out RMA it to Seagate and you should get a better, up to date drive. If it never craps out then you won the game and got a good external for an excellent price!
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 08:33 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mtl
Posts: 128
Default

for $90 you got a working 1TB external hdd. what you want more? I mean it's a hell of a good deal!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 08:38 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

I would keep it. Using it over USB means you won't really get any speed increases by going with a faster drive or anything anyways. A decent enclosure costs about $30, and a 1TB drive will run you about $100, so you did alright. I also could not sell something to someone that I am afraid might crap out, even if the unit is fine.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 09:05 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I got a 1TB drive on boxing day for i think 139 at BEst Buy, but its Western Digital :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 09:12 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

I've bought hundreds of Seagate drives and not one of them has failed even though some are past warranty date. I don't think this new drive is going to suddenly just "explode". I'd like to think that *any* company that was previously making good hard drives doesn't lose it all in under a year spontaneously.

..... mind you I have yet to buy any 1TB+ hard drives
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 10:01 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

I`ll keep it!

So, one of these days, could it be possible to open the enclosure and use the drive as a regular HDD in a PC? Is it a regular SATA drive they use in those enclosures of something with different connectors?
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 10:24 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,396

My System Specs

Default

It is possible. I had a Maxtor HDD enclosure and opened it up and used the HDD. Probably voids a warranty on the unit though, but there should not be any reason why you could not pop it open later on.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About to purchase tim333 New Builds 9 April 9, 2009 09:58 AM
Good News and Bad News. need some advice. arekieh Troubleshooting 7 November 23, 2008 09:24 AM
good 1 day/bad another? frosty Water Cooling 6 November 3, 2008 11:35 AM
AMD: Want the good news or the bad news first? Cheator CPU's and Motherboards 7 July 20, 2008 08:03 PM
My O/C story matsta31 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 July 6, 2008 06:07 AM