Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2009, 11:23 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
I'd like to think that *any* company that was previously making good hard drives doesn't lose it all in under a year spontaneously.
It's been WAY more than a year in the making...
(IMO at least) It seems they started their steep descent into crapdom when they first purchased Maxtor.

Something in that company must have been infectious.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 06:10 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Well, since I came home from vacation, I unpacked the drive and fired it up...
Good to go for now. It does what it's intended to do, not more not less.

There is a distinctive "click" when the "heads" are going to sleep (set to 15 minutes). I suppose it's normal to hear it.
The drive is a ST3160811AS..not covered by the firmware issue...we'll see. It runs a little hot, and the little foot stand to install it vertically is cr4ppy, so I have it in horizontal position, they're is only 1/8" gap underneath it, cause the little legs are so small. One of these days, I might take it out of the enclosure and install in in my case...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2009, 07:31 PM
Il Duce's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: T.O
Posts: 512
Default

use it as a back up image drive. just schedule incremental backups and you're set for a pc nightmare.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2009, 09:39 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,975

My System Specs

Default

Why not flash the drive to the newest firmware if you are worried about it. Although I have 2 of the 7200.11 drives that I have had for over a year without any issues.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2009, 10:35 PM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

Off course USB drive are slow, it's not because of the speed of the drive, Get a Esata ext. drive if you want speed. of course your board have to support it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
Also, being USB, is that drive is really slow? I mean 7200 RPM, 32mo cache, seems ok ,no?
Help!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About to purchase tim333 New Builds 9 April 9, 2009 09:58 AM
Good News and Bad News. need some advice. arekieh Troubleshooting 7 November 23, 2008 09:24 AM
good 1 day/bad another? frosty Water Cooling 6 November 3, 2008 11:35 AM
AMD: Want the good news or the bad news first? Cheator CPU's and Motherboards 7 July 20, 2008 08:03 PM
My O/C story matsta31 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 July 6, 2008 06:07 AM