Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Storage (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/storage/)
-   -   Partition 640gb drive... or not??? (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/storage/16352-partition-640gb-drive-not.html)

somecanadianguy March 30, 2009 06:43 PM

Partition 640gb drive... or not???

In a few days I'll be building my system.
I'm getting a WD 640gb hard drive and wondering if I should partition it.
I've never done it before so I don't really know what to do, or how much space each partition should get.

3 of 7 March 30, 2009 07:09 PM

If your gonna use it for your operating system I'd say partition it. A small partition for the OS, prolly 20g for XP and 50g for vista... If you keep all your docs, programs and pagefile off the C drive you can get away with smaller than that but it can be a pain to manage. ( Mine are 10g for XP and 30 for Vista)
This also allows you to make backup images of your system.

3 of 7 March 30, 2009 07:10 PM

You get the option of selecting the size of your partition during your windows install..
What OS are you using?

bojangles March 30, 2009 07:11 PM

Partitioning is really easy. You can do it when you install a fresh copy of Windows. When you install Windows it asks you to create a partition on a raw disk. Select the size you you deem appropriate. Personally, I make my OS partition twice as big as it needs to be (so after installing all your programs you need, etc., I still have 50% of the partition available to be used). You can also make more partitions at that time too, but you can also do it in Disk Management after installing Windows.

Hope that helps.

somecanadianguy March 30, 2009 07:30 PM

I'll be using Vista Home Premium 64bit.

50gig should be ok?
Then what do I put on that, just Vista? Or Vista and other programs?
I've seen people talking about using lots of partitions... one for OS, one for programs, one for pagefile, one for music... ect. That sounds like too much to me.